Skip Menu

University Directory -- Departments

Departments - E

Click on a department name to see additional details about a department, including a staff listing if available.

Economic Development

Capri Building (0373)
702 University City Blvd
Phone: (540) 231-5278
FAX: (540) 231-8850
E-mail: dwaddell@vt.edu
Web: http://www.econdev.vt.edu
John Provo, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4004
E-mail: jprovo@vt.edu
Doris Waddell, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-5278
E-mail: dwaddell@vt.edu

Economics

3016 Pamplin Hall (0316)
880 West Campus Dr
Phone: (540) 231-9636
FAX: (540) 231-9288
Web: http://www.econ.vt.edu
T. Nicholaus Tideman, Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-9636
E-mail: ntideman@vt.edu
Amy Stanford, Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-9636
E-mail: astanfor@vt.edu

Ecophysiology Lab

See Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation

eCorriders

Suite 209A Andrews Information Systems Building (0214)
1700 Pratt Dr
Web: http://www.ecorridors.vt.edu
B. van Gelder, Executive Director - Converged Technologies for Security, Safety, and Resilience
Phone: (540) 231-1853
E-mail: bvgelder@vt.edu

Education Abroad

See Global Education Office

Education, School of

See School of Education

Educational Media Company at Virginia Tech, Inc.

362 Squires Student Center (0546)
290 College Ave
Phone: (540) 231-4054
E-mail: emcvt@vt.edu
Web: http://www.collegemedia.com
, General Manager
Phone: (540) 231-4054
, Accounting Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-9860
E-mail: accounting@collegemedia.com

Bugle Yearbook

364 Squires Student Center
Phone: (540) 231-9851
E-mail: bugle@collegemedia.com
Web: http://www.bugleonline.com




College Media Solutions (Student Media Advertising Agency)

363 Squires Student Center (0546)
Phone: (540) 961-9860
E-mail: advertising@collegemedia.com
Web: http://www.solutions.collegemedia.com

Collegiate Times

365 Squires Student Center
Phone: (540) 231-9865
E-mail: editor@collegiatetimes.com
Web: collegiatetimes.com
Newsroom, News, features, sports, and opinions
Phone: (540) 231-9865
E-mail: news@collegiatetimes.com

Silhouette Magazine

344 Squires Student Center (0546)
E-mail: silhouette@collegemedia.com
Web: http://www.silhouette.collegemedia.com




Student Pubs. Photo Staff

361 Squires Student Center (0546)
E-mail: spps@vt.edu
Web: spps.collegemedia.com




VTTV Channel 33

340 Squires Student Center (0546)
E-mail: vttv33@gmail.com
Web: http://www.vttv.vt.edu




WUVT 90.7FM

350 Squires Student Center (0546)
Phone: (540) 231-9880
E-mail: wuvtamfm@vt.edu
Web: http://www.wuvt.vt.edu


Educational Research and Outreach, Office of

See School of Education

Electric Service, Virginia Tech

See Virginia Tech Electric Service

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Bradley Department of

302 Whittemore Hall (0111)
1185 Perry St
Phone: (540) 231-7494
FAX: (540) 231-3362
Web: http://www.ece.vt.edu
Scott F. Midkiff, Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-7494
E-mail: midkiff@vt.edu
M. G. Jennelle, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-7494
E-mail: mjennell@vt.edu

Emergency Management

248 Burruss Hall (0195)
800 Drillfield Dr
Phone: (540) 231-4873
E-mail: oem@vt.edu
Web: http://www.emergency.vt.edu
Mike Mulhare, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4873
E-mail: mjmulhare@vt.edu
Bobbi Myers, Business and Program Manager
Phone: (540) 231-2438
E-mail: bobbim@vt.edu

Energy and Sustainability

See Facilities

Energy Management Institute

See Mechanical Engineering

Engagement Finance and Administration

See Office for Engagement

Engineering Education

345 Goodwin Hall (0218)
635 Prices Fork Rd
Phone: (540) 231-6555
FAX: (540) 231-6903
E-mail: enge@vt.edu
Web: http://www.enge.vt.edu
Donna Riley, Interim Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-6555
E-mail: dmriley@vt.edu
Sue Teel, Executive Assistant/Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-1137
E-mail: sateel@vt.edu

Engineering Science and Mechanics

223 Norris Hall (0219)
495 Old Turner St
Phone: (540) 231-6651
FAX: (540) 231-4574
Web: http://www.esm.vt.edu/esm.html
Scott W. Case, Interim Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-3243
E-mail: scase@vt.edu
A. Bracken, Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-3243
E-mail: brackena@vt.edu

Engineering, College of

3046 Torgersen Hall (0217)
620 Drillfield Dr
Phone: (540) 231-6641
FAX: (540) 231-3031
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu
R.C. Benson, Dean
Phone: (540) 231-9752
L.C. Perkins, Executive Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-9752
E-mail: lperkins@vt.edu

Academic Affairs

212 Hancock Hall (0275)
Phone: (540) 231-3244
FAX: (540) 231-1831
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/
Bevlee Watford, Associate Dean
Phone: (540) 231-3244
E-mail: deuce@vt.edu
Tracy Sebring, Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-3244
E-mail: sebring@vt.edu

Administration

3046 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-6641
FAX: (540) 231-3031
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/
E. Nelson, Associate Dean & Chief of Staff
Phone: (540) 231-9446
E-mail: enelson@vt.edu
F. Rittenhouse, Office Services Specialist
Phone: (540) 231-6641
E-mail: rittenfa@vt.edu

Alumni Relations

Suite 306 Collegiate Square (0259)
Phone: (540) 231-5753
FAX: (540) 231-5377
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/
Carolyn U. Bain, Alumni Relations Director
Phone: (540) 231-5753
E-mail: cbain@vt.edu


Center for the Enhancement of Engineering Diversity

215 Hancock Hall (0259)
Phone: (540) 231-3244
FAX: (540) 231-1831
E-mail: ceed@vt.edu
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/ceed
B.A. Watford, Director
Phone: (540) 231-3244
E-mail: deuce@vt.edu


Corporate Relations

Suite 306 Collegiate Square Two (0259)
Phone: (540) 231-7702
FAX: (540) 231-5377
Web: http://www.cfr.givingto.vt.edu/
D. Hamilton, Associate Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (540) 231-6648
E-mail: dshamilt@vt.edu
L. Young, Development Associate
Phone: (540) 231-7702
E-mail: lgyoung@vt.edu

Development

Suite 306 Collegiate Square (0259)
Phone: (540) 231-9839
FAX: (540) 231-5377
Web: https://www.eng.vt.edu/devalumni
E. Edwards, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4066
E-mail: eedwards@vt.edu


Graduate Distance Learning

3005, Suite 3046 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-9754
FAX: (540) 231-3031
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/students/distancelearning/programs
G.R. Scales, Associate Dean for Global Engagement & Chief Technology Officer
Phone: (540) 231-9754
E-mail: gscales@vt.edu
Lisa Burns, Distance Learning Specialist
Phone: (540) 231-2940
E-mail: lkburns@vt.edu

Green Engineering

2090 Torgersen Hall (0237)
Phone: (540) 231-1446
FAX: (540) 231-8919
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/green/index.php
S. McGinnis, Director
Phone: (540) 231-1446
E-mail: smcginn@vt.edu


Information Technology

2045 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-2117
FAX: (540) 231-3031
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/it
G.R. Scales, Associate Dean for Global Engagement & Chief Technology Officer
Phone: (540) 231-9754
E-mail: gscales@vt.edu
D. Pokorski, Director of Information Technology
Phone: (540) 231-2117
E-mail: dale@vt.edu

International Programs

3008, Suite 3046 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-1755
FAX: (540) 231-3031
E-mail: engabroad@vt.edu
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/international/
G.R. Scales, Associate Dean of Global Engagement & Chief Technology Officer
Phone: (540) 231-9754
E-mail: gscales@vt.edu
Nicole Sanderlin, Director of Global Engagement
Phone: (540) 231-1755
E-mail: npsander@vt.edu

News and External Relations

3046 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-2476
FAX: (540) 231-3031
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/news/articlelist.php
L.A. Nystrom, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4371
E-mail: tansy@vt.edu
L. Haugh, Public Relations Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-2476
E-mail: jangus@vt.edu

Research and Graduate Studies

3046 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-9171
FAX: (540) 231-3031
Web: http://www.eng.vt.edu/
J. Lesko, Associate Dean
Phone: (540) 231-9171
E-mail: jlesko@vt.edu
B. Crawford, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-9171
E-mail: bcrawfrd@vt.edu

Software Assistance Triage (SWAT)

2080 Torgersen Hall (0217)
Phone: (540) 231-7815
E-mail: swat@vt.edu
Web: http://www.swat.eng.vt.edu




English

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner St NW
Phone: (540) 231-8466
FAX: (540) 231-5692
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu
Joe Eska, Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8466
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Patty Morse, Assistant to the Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8466
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu

Center for Applied Technologies in the Humanities (CATH)

Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-7663
FAX: (540) 231-5692
Web: http://wiz2.cath.vt.edu/
D. Radcliffe, Director
Phone: (540) 231-7663
E-mail: drad@vt.edu


Center for the Study of Rhetoric in Society

340E Shanks Hall
Phone: (540) 231-8458
FAX: (540) 231-5692
E-mail: rhetoric@vt.edu
Web: http://www.rhetoric.english.vt.edu/
K. Belanger, Director
Phone: (540) 231-8458
E-mail: krbelang@vt.edu


English Graduate Studies Office

310 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-4659
FAX: (540) 231-5692
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu/graduate/
J. Eska, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4659
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Sally Wieringa, Graduate Programs Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-4659
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu

English Undergraduate Studies Office

329 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-6515
FAX: (540) 231-5692
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu/undergraduate/
L. C. Skinner, Coordinator, Undergraduate Advising
Phone: (540) 231-6515
E-mail: lskinner@vt.edu
D. Hezel, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-6515
E-mail: dhezel@vt.edu

Writing Center

340 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-5436
FAX: (540) 231-5692
Web: http://www.composition.english.vt.edu/wc/WC_Home.html
Jenny Lawrence, Writing Center Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-5436
E-mail: jlwrnc@vt.edu
S. Ross, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-5436
E-mail: sdavis60@vt.edu

English Language Institute

See Language and Culture Institute

Enrollment Management

Ste. 201 North End Center (0392)
300 Turner St NW
E-mail: vto@vt.edu
Web: http://vto.vt.edu


Enrollment Services

See Undergraduate Admissions / See Graduate School / See University Scholarships and Financial Aid

Enterprise Systems

Andrews Information Systems Building (0214)
1700 Pratt Dr
Phone: (540) 231-7553
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: dfulton@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
D. Fulton, Associate Vice President for Enterprise Systems (see VP of Information Technology, Office of)
Phone: (540) 231-0735
E-mail: dfulton@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Advancement Applications

Andrews Information Systems Building
Phone: (540) 231-2877
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: terryj@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Janet Linkous, Manager
Phone: (540) 231-2877
E-mail: terryj@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Business Intelligence Sevices

Andrews Information Systems Building (0214)
Phone: (540) 231-9562
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: debjohn@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Debra Johnson, Manager
Phone: (540) 231-9562
E-mail: debjohn@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Database & Application Administration

Andrews Information Systems Building (0214)
FAX: (540) 231-8649
Richard Quintin, Manager
Phone: (540) 231-7856
E-mail: rquintin@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Document Management Systems

Andrews Information Systems Building (0214)
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: hoppem@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Mark Hoppe, Manager
Phone: (540) 231-4243
E-mail: hoppem@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 213-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Finance Applications

Andrews Information Systems Building (0457)
Phone: (540) 231-3196
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: techcpe@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Jay Smith, Project Leader
Phone: (540) 231-3196
E-mail: techcpe@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Human Resources Applications

Andrews Information Systems Building (0380)
Phone: (540) 231-7628
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: lahoppe@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Lee Anne Hoppe, Project Leader
Phone: (540) 231-7628
E-mail: lahoppe@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Student Applications

Andrews Information Systems Building (0457)
Phone: (540) 231-8803
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: crockett@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Randal Crockett, Project Leader
Phone: (540) 231-8803
E-mail: crockett@vt.edu
Angel Carter, angelc5@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Web Services and Development

Andrews Information Systems Building (0214)
Phone: (540) 231-5614
FAX: (540) 231-8649
E-mail: rooney@vt.edu
Web: http://www.it.vt.edu/organization/es.html
Kevin Rooney, Manager
Phone: (540) 231-5614
E-mail: rooney@vt.edu
Angel Carter, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7553
E-mail: angelc5@vt.edu

Entomology

216 Price Hall (0319)
170 Drillfield Dr
Phone: (540) 231-6341
FAX: (540) 231-9131
E-mail: kenleysm@vt.edu
Web: http://www.ento.vt.edu
L.T. Kok, Professor and Head
Phone: (540) 231-6341
S. Kenley, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-6341
E-mail: kenleysm@vt.edu

Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs

302 Agnew Hall
Phone: (540) 231-6543
FAX: (540) 231-3057
E-mail: mweaver@vt.edu
M. Weaver, Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-6543
E-mail: mweaver@vt.edu
S. Sessor, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-6543
E-mail: worrells@vt.edu

Environmental and Water Resources Engineering

See Via Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Environmental Design and Planning

202 Cowgill Hall (0205)
1325 Perry St
Phone: (540) 231-0611
FAX: (540) 231-6332
E-mail: edp@vt.edu
Web: http://www.caus.vt.edu/caus/edp/
Patrick Miller, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies & Outreach & Interim Director
Phone: (540) 231-5582
E-mail: pmiller@vt.edu
Vacant, Program Support Technician

Environmental Science

See Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences

ePortfolio

1200 Torgersen Hall (0292)
620 Drillfield Dr
Phone: (540) 231-8994
FAX: (540) 231-5922
E-mail: eportfolio@scholar.vt.edu
Web: http://atel.tlos.vt.edu
Marc Zaldivar, Director
Phone: (540) 231-8994
E-mail: marcz@vt.edu

Equity and Access

See Human Resources

Office for Equity and Accessibility

Suite 2300 North End Center (0318)
Phone: (540) 231-2010
E-mail: equityandaccess@vt.edu
Dr. Kelly Oaks, Assistant Vice President for Equity and Accessibility
Phone: (540) 231-8771
E-mail: koaks@vt.edu


Event Planning Office

See Student Centers and Activities

Executive MBA Program - National Capital Region

See Pamplin College of Business

Executive Vice President and Provost

210 Burruss Hall (0132)
800 Drillfield Dr
Phone: (540) 231-6123
FAX: (540) 231-4265
Web: http://www.provost.vt.edu
Thanassis Rikakis, Executive Vice President and Provost
Phone: (540) 231-6123
E-mail: provost@vt.edu
Shannon H. Stump, Executive Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-6123
E-mail: sstump@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Enrollment and Degree Management

104 Burruss Hall (0717)
Phone: (540) 231-4623
Wanda Hankins Dean, Vice Provost
Phone: (540) 231-4623
E-mail: wdean@vt.edu
Machell Schmolitz, Information Technology Specialist
Phone: (540) 231-4623
E-mail: schmltz@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

330 Burruss Hall (0132)
Phone: (540) 231-6122
FAX: (540) 231-7211
Web: http://provost.vt.edu
Jack W. Finney, Vice Provost
Phone: (540) 231-2350
E-mail: finney@vt.edu
Cynthia R. Hutchison, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-2350
E-mail: chutchison@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (continued)


Amy M. Hogan, Assistant Provost for Leadership Initiatives
Phone: (540) 231-3273
E-mail: amyhogan@vt.edu
Kathy M. Murphy, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-9987
E-mail: kathymm@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (continued)


Margaret E. Layne, Assistant Provost for Faculty Development
Phone: (540) 231-9948
E-mail: playne@vt.edu
Kathy M. Murphy, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-9987
E-mail: kathymm@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (continued)


Ellen W. Plummer, Assistant Provost
Phone: (540) 231-7172
E-mail: eplummer@vt.edu
Judy W. Taylor, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-9595
E-mail: taylor1@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (continued)


Peter Macedo, Director of Access & Faculty Development (327 Burruss Hall, MC: 0132)
Phone: (540) 231-2148
E-mail: pmacedo@vt.edu


Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness

330 Burruss Hall (0132)
Phone: (540) 231-6122
FAX: (540) 231-7211
Web: http://provost.vt.edu
Kenneth S. Smith, Vice Provost
Phone: (540) 231-1807
E-mail: kensmith@vt.edu
Kathy D. Lewis, Administrative & Human Resources Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-1807
E-mail: kdlewis@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness (continued)


Jeffrey L. Earley, Assistant Provost for Finance
Phone: (540) 231-6905
E-mail: jearley@vt.edu
Nadine C. Hughes, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-6122
E-mail: hughesnc@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness (continued)


Feride Daku, Director of Finance (134 Burruss Hall, MC: 0132)
Phone: (540) 231-5410
E-mail: fdaku@vt.edu
Charlene Horton, Fiscal Technician
Phone: (540) 231-5410
E-mail: charleneh@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness (continued)


Alva P. Phillips, Business Manager
Phone: (540) 231-4382
E-mail: phillipa@vt.edu
Robyn A. Duncan, Fiscal Technician & Human Resources Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-7682
E-mail: robynd@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness (continued)


S. Tod Whitehurst, Information Technology Support Technician (329B Burruss Hall, MC: 0132)
Phone: (540) 231-7300
E-mail: todw@vt.edu
Nathan C. Smith, Information Technology Support Technician (329E Burruss Hall, MC: 0132)
Phone: (540) 231-7458
E-mail: nasmith7@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness (continued)


(Vacant), Assistant Provost for Academic Space
Phone: (540) 231-9322
James B. Perkins, Facilities Manager (1100B Torgersen Hall, MC: 0284)
Phone: (540) 231-7589
E-mail: chuckp@vt.edu

Vice Provost for Resource Management and Institutional Effectiveness (continued)


Barry W. Simmons, Sr., Assistant Provost for Special Projects (134 Burruss Hall, MC: 0132)
Phone: (540) 231-0053
E-mail: simmonsb@vt.edu


Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

Suite 104 Burruss Hall (0717)
Phone: (540) 231-4167
FAX: (540) 231-7211
Web: http://www.undergraduate.vt.edu
Dr. Rachel L. Holloway, Vice Provost
Phone: (540) 231-4167
Teresa E. Wright, Executive Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-4167
E-mail: tewright@vt.edu

Export and Secure Research Compliance

See Office of Research Compliance

Extension

See Cooperative Extension / See Agricultural Experiment Station

Extension Distribution Center

Extension Division Publications Building (0512)
112 Landsdowne St


Melanie Rader
Phone: (540) 231-1320


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Download a PDF of the latest University Department Directory.

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home