Skip Menu

Department Information

Chemistry

306 Hahn Hall - North Wing (0212)
900 West Campus Dr
Phone: (540) 231-5391
FAX: (540) 231-3255
Web: http://www.chem.vt.edu/
J. Tanko, Chairman
Phone: (540) 231-6687
E-mail: jtanko@vt.edu
E. Shephard, Administrative Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-5966
E-mail: eloope@vt.edu

Staff in Chemistry

Samir Alghool Ahmed Abdelrhman,
E-mail: alghool@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: 107 Davidson Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Doaa Abdelsalam Ahmed Mohamed Altarawy, Research Scientist CY
E-mail: daltarawy@vt.edu

Patricia G Amateis, Assoc. Prof., Director of General Chem.
E-mail: pamateis@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6629
Address: 117 Surge Building
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0212
Postal Code: 0212

Shamindri Meetiyamulla Arachchige, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: arachsm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4878
Address: Virginia Tech Chemistry Dept.
Surge 117
Postal Code: 0212

Mehdi Ashraf-Khorassani, Research Scientist
E-mail: mashraf@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8221
Address: Chemistry
Hahn Hall Room 1004
Postal Code: 0212

Mariam Badawi,
E-mail: mbadawi@vt.edu

Taylor Arnold Barnes, Research Scientist CY
E-mail: tbarnes1@vt.edu

Alexandre Bazante, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: abazante@vt.edu

Bill Bebout Sr, Scientist II
E-mail: wbebout@vt.edu

Thomas E Bell, Asst. Chair for Res/Spec. Proj.
E-mail: tbell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8226
Address: Davidson Hall, Rm 480 (0212)
1040 Drillfield Drive
Postal Code: 0212

Michael A Berg, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: bergm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2006
Address: Dept. of Chemistry
117 Surge (Bldg 170)
400 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0212

Michael Borgerding,
Address: Chemistry
107 Davidson Hall
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Daniel Brandell,
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
107 Davidson
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Steve Breeding, Computer Network Supp Tech
E-mail: steveb23@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8142
Address: 400 Stanger St
Surge Room 117
Postal Code: 0212

Claudia Patricia Brodkin, Professional Lecturer
E-mail: clbrodki@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8230
Address: Chemistry
411 ChemP
Postal Code: 0212

Eileen Bui, tutor
E-mail: ebui90@vt.edu

Maggie Bobbitt Bump, Senior Instructor
E-mail: mbump@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4675
Address: 117 Surge Hall
Department of Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

John P Burleson, Electronic Technician
E-mail: jburles@vt.edu
Address: 8 Davidson Hall
VT Chemistry Dept
Postal Code: 0212

Sharelle Carbaugh, Stockroom Manager
E-mail: sfdillon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7795
Address: 1040 Drillfield Dr.
174 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Claudia Cardona,

Paul Carlier, Professor AY
E-mail: pcarlier@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9219
Address: 3103 Hahn Hall South
Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Neal Castagnoli Jr, Harvey W. Peters Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
E-mail: ncastagn@vt.edu

Namki Cho, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: cnamki@vt.edu

William Coleman III,

Daniel Crawford, Professor
E-mail: crawdad@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7760
Address: 1110 Hahn Hall
Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Yumin Dai, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: daiym@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4708
Address: Davidson Hall 252 Chemistry
1040 Drillfield Drive MC 0212
Postal Code: 0346

Michelle L Dalton, Professional Lecturer
E-mail: mdalton1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7594
Address: 205 North Hahn Hall (0212)
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

William Davis, 004200-CHEM-Lab Asst WA
E-mail: wdavis93@vt.edu

Paul A Deck, Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
E-mail: pdeck@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3493
Address: Department of Chemistry (MC 0212)
Hahn Hall South Wing, RM 2101
Postal Code: 0212

Daniel Derringer,
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Raymond E Dessy, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
E-mail: dessyre@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5842
Address: 321A Davidson Hall
Chemistry Dept. 0212
Postal Code: 0212

Roberto Di Remigio,
E-mail: drobe88@vt.edu

Kristie Marie Dorfler, Program Support Admin
E-mail: kdorfler@vt.edu

Harry C Dorn, Professor
E-mail: hdorn@vt.edu
Address: Chemistry Department
1109 Hahn Hall
Postal Code: 0212

James C Duchamp, Res Assoc Prof
E-mail: jduchamp@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Nicolas Dufaure,
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
107 Davidson Hall
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Jeannine Eddleton, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: eddleton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8228
Address: Chemistry
9 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Alan R Esker, Professor
E-mail: aesker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4601
Address: 1107 Hahn Hall South
Chemistry Department
Postal Code: 0212

Felicia A Etzkorn, Professor
E-mail: fetzkorn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2235
Address: 3105 Hahn Hall
Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Xu Feng, Scientist Manager I
E-mail: xufeng@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6604
Address: 008 Hahn Hall South
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Jamie Ferguson,
E-mail: jamief84@vt.edu

Ryan C Fortenberry,
E-mail: r410@vt.edu

Timothy J Fuhrer,
E-mail: tfuhrer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: 306 Hahn Hall North
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Rich Gandour, Professor
E-mail: gandour@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3731
Address: Chemistry
306A Hahn Hall North
Postal Code: 0212

Cindy Gautier, Director of Business Operations
E-mail: cindyg@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3286
Address: Department of Chemistry
Davidson Hall, Room 480
900 West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0212

Aaron Geller, Instructor AY
E-mail: ageller@vt.edu

Harry W Gibson, Professor
E-mail: hwgibson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5902
Address: Chemistry
2105 Hahn Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Rachel Glenn, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: rglenn@vt.edu

Laurie Good, Executive Assistant
E-mail: laurieg@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4457
Address: VT Molecular Sciences Software Institute (MolSSI) (0561)
1880 Pratt Drive, Suite 1100
Postal Code: 0212

Tijana Grove, Assistant Professor
E-mail: tijana.grove@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7011
Address: 2107 Hahn Hall South
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Postal Code: 0212

Ruihan Guo,
E-mail: rguo1@vt.edu

Yichen Guo, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: guoichen@vt.edu

Marmar Haghighi Khomami, Lecture Prep Coordinator
E-mail: marmar1@vt.edu

Brian Ernest Hanson, Professor
E-mail: hanson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7206
Address: Chemistry
103 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Anna Haskins Hawthorne, Undergraduate Coordinator
E-mail: ahawthor@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4239
Address: Department of Chemistry MC 0212
900 W Campus Dr Hahn N RM 306
Postal Code: 0212

Wanda Q Hensley, Office Services Supervisor
E-mail: sunfire@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3574
Address: Chemistry 0212
480D Davidson Hall, Virginia Tech
West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0212

Jana Herzberger, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: janah1@vt.edu

James Coleman Howard, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: jchoward@vt.edu

Tomas Hudlicky,
E-mail: thud1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Joli M Huynh, Graduate Admissions & Academic Progress Specialist
E-mail: jolih@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8225
Address: Chemistry Dept
304 Hahn Hall North
Postal Code: 0212

Geno Iannaccone, Analytical Chemist Supervisor
E-mail: genoi@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6578
Address: Chemistry
006 Hahn Hall South
800 West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0212

Karen Iannaccone, Research Asst
E-mail: kareni10@vt.edu

Larry E Jackson, Computer Systems Engineer
E-mail: ljackson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8257
Address: Chemistry
Surge Bldg. Rm. 117
400 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0212

Kezia Johnson, Office Specialist
E-mail: keziajo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2876
Address: Chemistry Dept.
117 Surge
VA TECH
Postal Code: 0212

Jatinder Josan, Assistant Professor
E-mail: jsjosan@vt.edu

Beth Kast, Fiscal Technician
E-mail: bkast1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3383
Address: 900 W Campus Dr (Room 300)
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Tina Keller,
E-mail: tkeller@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry Department 306 HHN
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

David G. I. Kingston, University Distinguished Professor
E-mail: dkingsto@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6570
Address: Chemistry
3111 Hahn Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Kenneth Knott Jr, Lab & Research Specialist
E-mail: kknott@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0885
Address: 171 Davidson Hall
1040 Drillfield Dr.
006 Hahn Hall South
Postal Code: 0212

Ashok Kumar, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: akaman81@vt.edu

Feng Lin, Assistant Professor
E-mail: fenglin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4067
Address: Hahn Hall North 306-XYZ
900 West Campus Drive
Department of Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Megan J Lineberry, Housekeeping Worker
E-mail: meganl83@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1224
Address: Housing & Residence Life
Owens Hall Rm 41 Hskpg
150 Kent Street
Postal Code: 0701

Juwhan Liu,
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
107 Davidson
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Guoliang Liu, Assistant Professor
E-mail: gliu1@vt.edu

Victoria Long, Instructor
E-mail: vilong@vt.edu
Address: Chemistry Department (0212)
306 Hahn Hall North
Postal Code: 0212

Corrin Lin Lundquist, Program Support Technician Sr
E-mail: clund5@vt.edu

Louis A Madsen, Associate Professor
E-mail: lmadsen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1270
Address: Department of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Herve Marand, Professor and Associate Chair
E-mail: hmarand@vt.edu

Eliseo Marin-Rimoldi, Research Scientist CY
E-mail: meliseo@vt.edu
Phone: 504-231-3054
Address: VT Molecular Sciences Software Institute (MolSSI) (0561)
1880 Pratt Drive, Suite 1100
Postal Code: 0212

Ander Martin Cipitria,
E-mail: anderm@vt.edu

John Matson, Assistant Professor
E-mail: jbmatson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3329
Address: 3107 Hahn Hall South
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Nicholas Mayhall, Assistant Professor
E-mail: nmayhall@vt.edu

Eugene Mazzola,
Phone: 540-231-6570
Address: Department of Chemistry
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Raouf Medimagh,
E-mail: raoufm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry Department, Virginia Tech
ICTAS II
Postal Code: 0212

Joe Merola, Professor
E-mail: jmerola@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4510
Address: Chemistry Department (0212)
306B Hahn Hall North
Postal Code: 0212

Kathy Mitchem, Program Support Tech Sr.
E-mail: kathyl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3029
Address: ACS Div. of Polymer Chemistry
ICTAS II, M.C. 0917
1075 Life Science Circle
Postal Code: 0279

Nicholas Gordon Moon,
E-mail: nmoon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: 480 DAvidson Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Robert Bowen Moore III, Professor
E-mail: rbmoore3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6015
Address: 1105 Hahn Hall South (0212)
Department of Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

John R Morris, Professor
E-mail: jrmorris@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2472
Address: 1101 Hahn Hall
Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Amanda Morris, Associate Professor
E-mail: ajmorris@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5585
Address: 3109 Hahn Hall South
Department of Chemistry
Virginia Polytechnical Institute and State University
Postal Code: 0212

Zenaida Mourao,

Linqin Mu, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: linqinmu@vt.edu
Address: VT Department of Chemistry
1040 Drillfield Dr 156 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Sohan Ram Nagrani MD, BRC Student Curator
E-mail: srn3z@vt.edu

Jessica Nash, Research Scientist CY
E-mail: janash@vt.edu

Carlos Navarrete, 004200-CHEM-Lab Asst WA
E-mail: carlosn@vt.edu

Negin Nazem, Laboratory Technician Senior
E-mail: nnazem@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3471
Address: Surge Building (O), Davidson 281A (Lab)
Chemistry (0212)
Postal Code: 0212

Kurt Neidigh, Instructor
E-mail: neidigh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1809
Address: Department of Chemistry (0212)
Surge 117
400 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0212

Michael Ogden,
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
107 Davidson Hall
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Bruce Orler, Research Scientist
E-mail: eborler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-808-5979
Address: Department of Chemistry
1016 Hahn Hall South
Postal Code: 0212

Stephanie Oyola-Reynoso, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: soyola@vt.edu

Balasubramanyam Penagaluri, Sr Research Associate CY
E-mail: balap1@vt.edu

Thomas Piccariello,
E-mail: tpic@vt.edu

Lesia Linkous Pristas, Office Services Specialist
E-mail: lesiar@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3029
Address: Meeting Coordinator
ACS Division of Polymer Chem.
410 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0279

Benjamin Pritchard, Research Scientist
E-mail: bpp4@vt.edu

Matt Rich, Lab Asst. (McNair)
E-mail: rmatt88@vt.edu

Judy S Riffle, Professor
E-mail: jriffle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8214
Address: Macromolecular Sci & Engr.
145 ICTAS, Stanger Street (0196)
Postal Code: 0212

Varun Rishi, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: vrishi@vt.edu

Joe Salamoun, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: salamoun@vt.edu

Webster Santos, Associate Professor
E-mail: wsantos@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5742
Address: Virginia Tech Chemistry Dept.
3101 Hahn Hall
West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0212

Claire Santos, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: santosc@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8200
Address: 306 Hahn Hall North
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Paul Saxe, Research Scientist
E-mail: psaxe@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0761
Address: MolSSI (MS 0561)
1880 Pratt Drive, Suite 1100
Postal Code: 0212

Michael Schulz, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: mdschulz@vt.edu

Andrew Seidemann, Stockroom Assistant
E-mail: aseid@vt.edu

Vinod Kumar Shahi,

Narasimhamurthy Shanaiah, NMR Spectroscopist
E-mail: nmrns@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8256
Address: Department of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
Hahn Hall South 006
Postal Code: 0212

Emillie J Shephard, Administrative Assistant
E-mail: eloope@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5966
Address: Chemistry Department
107 Davidson
Postal Code: 0212

Lubna Sherin,
E-mail: lsherin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6570
Address: 3111 Hahn Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Carla Slebodnick, Instructor
E-mail: slebod@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1848
Address: Virginia Tech Dept. of Chemistry
ILSB, Mail Code 0913
1981 Kraft Drive, Room 2028
Postal Code: 0212

Daniel George Smith, Research Scientist CY
E-mail: dgasmith@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8844
Address: VT Molecular Sciences Software Institute (MolSSI) (0561)
1880 Pratt Drive, Suite 1100
Postal Code: 0212

Meredith Smith, 004200-CHEM-Admin Asst
E-mail: msmith96@vt.edu

Jared Nathaniel Spencer, Summer Sch Non-VT Fac Teaching
E-mail: jnspence@vt.edu

Kiaya Minh-Li Sulier, Laboratory Specialist
E-mail: kiaya13@vt.edu

Sakiko Suzuki,
E-mail: ssuzuki@vt.edu

James M Tanko, Professor and Department Chair
E-mail: jtanko@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6687
Address: Chemistry
480 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Larry Taylor, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
E-mail: ltaylor@vt.edu
Address: Surge Bldg
Room 117
Postal Code: 0212

Secil Tekin Celebi,
E-mail: scelebi@vt.edu

Chixia Tian, Research Scientist AY
E-mail: ctian@vt.edu

Brian M Tissue, Associate Professor
E-mail: tissue@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3786
Address: Chemistry Department (0212)
Hahn Hall North 306C
Postal Code: 0212

Diego Troya, Associate Professor
E-mail: troya@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1381
Address: Dept. of Chemistry
1111 Hahn Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Richard Turner, Research Professor
E-mail: srturner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4552
Address: ICTAS II
1075 Life Science Circle, Suite 110
MII and Department of Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Pamela Turner, Journal Admn Support
E-mail: psturner@vt.edu

Pavel Usov, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: pusov@vt.edu

Edward Valeyev, Professor
E-mail: efv@vt.edu
Phone: 540-737-8268
Address: 1103 Hahn Hall South
Department of Chemistry
Postal Code: 0212

Candace Elizabeth Wall, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: candacewall@vt.edu

Xiao Wang, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: xwang89@vt.edu

Yin Wang, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: ywang300@vt.edu

Ryan Wells, Research Asst. EH
E-mail: rw3jp@vt.edu

Thomas P Wertalik, Scientific Glassblower
E-mail: wertalik@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6111
Address: 1006 Hahn Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0212

Hai Wu,
E-mail: wuhai80@vt.edu
Address: Virginia Tech
1040 Drillfield Drive
156 Davidson Hall
Postal Code: 0212

Daisuke Yamamoto,
E-mail: daisukey@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6587
Address: 2108 Hahn Hall(0344)
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0212

ZhongKe Yao, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: zkyao@vt.edu

Gordon T Yee, Associate Professor and Director of Undergrad. Studies
E-mail: gyee@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3090
Address: 2103 Hahn Hall
Chemistry Department
Postal Code: 0212

Jinying Yuan,
Phone: 540-231-5391
Address: Chemistry
College of Science
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0212

Karl Zachary,
E-mail: kzachary@vt.edu
Address: Chemistry
2110 Hahn Hall south
Postal Code: 0212

Zhengping Zhou, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: zzhou85@vt.edu


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.