Communication

121 Shanks Hall (0311)
181 Turner St NW
Phone: (540) 231-7136
FAX: (540) 231-9817
E-mail: comm@vt.edu
Web: http://www.comm.vt.edu/
Robert E. Denton, Jr., Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-7166
S. Shelor, Executive Secretary
Phone: (540) 231-7166
E-mail: sonyarae@vt.edu

Staff in Communication

Andrew Allegretta, Olympic Sports Official
E-mail: aallegr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3435
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 253, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Claire Boor, Instructor
E-mail: claire86@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9831
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 137, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Douglas Cannon, Professor of Practice
E-mail: dfcannon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2331
Address: Communication MC 0311
181 Turner St NW Shanks Rm 106
Postal Code: 0311

Dorothy Skiles Conner, Instructor
E-mail: djs21@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8333
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 148, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 9999

Robert E Denton Jr, W Thomas Rice Chair, Department Head
E-mail: rdenton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7166
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 130E1, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Katherine Haenschen, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: kh3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7136
Address: Communication MC 0311
181 Turner St NW Shanks Rm 121
Postal Code: 0311

Demetria K Harris, Admin Asst to the Dept Head
E-mail: mimih@vt.edu

Kimberly Garnand Higgs, Program Support Tech
E-mail: kimberlyhiggs@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7942
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 130A, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Wendy M Hodge, Administrative Support/Receptionist
E-mail: wendy.hodge@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7136
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 121, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

W. Wat Hopkins, Professor
E-mail: whopkins@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9833
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 103, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Mike Horning, Assistant Professor
E-mail: mhorning@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7162
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 140, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Buddy Howell, Visiting Assistant Professor
E-mail: buddyhowell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7163
Address: Communication MC 0311
181 Turner St NW Shanks Rm 141
Postal Code: 0311

Adrienne Ivory, Assistant Professor
E-mail: aivory@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1671
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 108, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

James Dee Ivory, Associate Professor
E-mail: jivory@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6507
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 111, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street, NW
Postal Code: 0311

Dale M Jenkins, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: dajenki2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9829
Address: Communication MC 0311
181 Turner St NW Shanks Rm 143
Postal Code: 0311

Jim A Kuypers, Professor
E-mail: kuypers@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3154
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 112, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Nneka Logan, Assistant Professor
E-mail: nlogan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1749
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 107, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Jenn Mackay, Associate Professor
E-mail: jemackay@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1663
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 139, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Kevin David Martin, IT Support Technician
E-mail: kdmartin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6652
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 119, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0317

Natalia Mielczarek, Assistant Professor
E-mail: nmiel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1666
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 144, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Cayce Myers, Assistant Professor
E-mail: mcmyers@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7165
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 101, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Brandi Quesenberry, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: brandiq@vt.edu
Address: Department of Communications
130C Shanks Hall
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Robin John Reed,
E-mail: rrobin7@vt.edu
Phone: 540-985-3614
Address: 115 Major Williams Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0115

Syrenthia Robinson, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: sjrob@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9827
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 109, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Bill Roth, Professor of Practice
E-mail: billroth@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5020
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 151, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Hannah Shinault, Instructor
E-mail: hshinault@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5769
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 255, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Stephanie A Smith, Assistant Professor
E-mail: stephs11@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7137
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 105, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street, NW
Postal Code: 0311

Nathan Sowder, Instructor
E-mail: zsowder@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3435
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 253, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

William Paul Spaulding, TV/Multimedia Systems Engineer
E-mail: wpspaul@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8763
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Center for the Arts, Room 151, Virginia Tech
190 Alumni Mall
Postal Code: 0311

Emily Stallings, Senior Instructor
E-mail: ews@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3327
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 155, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Susan C Stinson, Instructor
E-mail: susan.stinson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5044
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 130B, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Dan Tamul, Assistant Professor
E-mail: tamul@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3610
Address: Shanks Hall Rm 146 Communication
181 Turner Street NW MC0311
Postal Code: 0311

John C Tedesco, Professor
E-mail: tedesco@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3224
Address: Department of Communication 0311
181 Turner St NW Shanks Hall Rm 113
Postal Code: 0311

Emilie L Tydings, Instructor
E-mail: etydings@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3435
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 253, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Beth Waggenspack, Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor
E-mail: bwaggens@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7625
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 147, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Brandi A Watkins, Assistant Professor
E-mail: bawatkins@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1661
Address: Shanks Hall Room 110
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Chelsea Lane Woods, Assistant Professor
E-mail: clwoods@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7136
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 121, Virginia Tech
181 Turner STreet, NW
Postal Code: 0311

Jared M Woolly, Instructor
E-mail: jmwoolly@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1669
Address: Department of Communication (0311)
Shanks Hall, Room 142, Virginia Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0311

Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Download a PDF of the latest University Department Directory.

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Virginia Tech Buildings

Street Addresses

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.