Skip Menu

Department Information

Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences

330 Smyth Hall (0404)
185 Ag Quad Ln
Phone: (540) 231-6305
FAX: (540) 231-3431
Web: http://www.cses.vt.edu
Erik H. Ervin, Professor and Interim Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-9775
E-mail: eervin@vt.edu
Judy M. Keister, Admin. Asst. to Department Head & Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-9775
E-mail: jkeister@vt.edu

CSES Coordinating Counselor - CSS


B. Tracy, CSS Coordinating Counselor
Phone: (540) 231-8259
E-mail: bftracy@vt.edu

CSES Coordinating Counselor - ENSC


M. J. Eick, ENSC Coordinating Counselor
Phone: (540) 231-8943
E-mail: eick@vt.edu

CSES Financial Specialist


S. Allen, Financial Specialist
Phone: (540) 231-9776
E-mail: clemson@vt.edu

CSES Graduate Program Director


W. Lee Daniels, Graduate Program Director
Phone: (540) 231-7175
E-mail: wdaniels@vt.edu

CSES Info Tech Specialist


T. Ellmore, Info Tech Spec (IT support and webmaster)
Phone: (540) 231-6375
E-mail: tellmore@vt.edu

CSES Purchasing, Payroll, & HR Assistant


R. Shrader, Purchasing, Payroll, and HR Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-6487
E-mail: rshrader@vt.edu

CSES Student Affairs


J. Stewart, Student Support Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-9785
E-mail: jen.stewart@vt.edu
R. Saville, Education Support Specialist
Phone: (540) 231-6300
E-mail: saville@vt.edu

Operations Assistant


N. Green, Operations Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-6305
E-mail: nicoleg@vt.edu

Soil Testing Laboratory


S. Heckendorn, Lab Manager
Phone: (540) 231-6893
E-mail: soiltesting@vt.edu

Turfgrass Research Center


E. H. Ervin, Professor, Turfgrass Science
Phone: (540) 231-6113
E-mail: eervin@vt.edu

Virginia Cooperative Extension


G. K. Evanylo, CSES Extension Project Leader
Phone: (540) 231-9739
E-mail: gevanylo@vt.edu

Virginia Crop Improvement Association


Tom Hardiman, Agricultural Program Manager
Phone: (804) 746-4884
E-mail: hardiman@vt.edu

Staff in Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences

A. Ozzie Abaye, Professor
E-mail: cotton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9737
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
Smyth Hall, Room 330, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Sabrina Allen, Financial Specialist
E-mail: clemson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9776
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences (0404)
Smyth Hall, Room 329, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Whitnee Leigh Barker Askew, Turfgrass Program Manager
E-mail: waskew@vt.edu
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
Smyth Hall, Rm 427, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Brian Badgley, Assistant Professor
E-mail: badgley@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9629
Address: RB1880, Suite 1129
Room 1121
Postal Code: 0493

Carson Beaver, Field Technician
E-mail: carsonb3@vt.edu

Harry D Behl, Research Specialist Senior
E-mail: hbehl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7452
Address: CSES Dept Agronomy Farm
1008 Old Mill Rd
Postal Code: 0403

David P Belesky, Adjunct Professor

Eric S Bendfeldt, Area Specialist, Community Viability
E-mail: ebendfel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-432-6029
Address: Northern District Ext. Office
2322 Blue Stone Hills Drive
Suite 140
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Postal Code: 9999

Stephen J Binns, Field Inspector
E-mail: bstep54@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6305
Address: 330 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 9999

Ruslan Biyashev, Research Manager
E-mail: rbiyashe@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7560
Address: Department of Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
Latham Hall, 524, Virginia Tech
220 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0390

Wynse S Brooks, Research Associate
E-mail: wybrooks@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7624
Address: Department of Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences (0404)
Smyth Hall, 427, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Mike Brosius, Research Specialist Senior
E-mail: brosius@vt.edu
Phone: 540-239-2793
Address: Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences (MC 0404)
322 Latham Hall, Virginia Tech
220 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0390

Joseph Daniel Buckwalter, Research Associate
E-mail: joebuck@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9782
Address: 425A Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Julia Camille Burger, Research Associate
E-mail: jcburger@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9795
Address: CSES Dept.
250 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0404

Elizabeth C Calvera, Instructor
E-mail: ecalvera@vt.edu

Pamela Capps, Program Support Assistant
E-mail: pamelacp@vt.edu
Phone: 804-643-4894
Address: Crop & Soil Environ. Sci.-VT(MC0404)
DCR-Main Street Centre/410
600 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Postal Code: 9999

Chaoqi Chen, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: chaoqi3@vt.edu

Bee Khim Chim, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: bchim@vt.edu

Anthony Christopher, Plant Breeding Assistant
E-mail: achris33@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7452
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
Agronomy Farm
1008 Old Mill Road
Postal Code: 0404

Elizabeth Marie Clevinger, Research Associate
E-mail: ecleving@vt.edu

James B Crozier,

W. Lee Daniels, Professor
E-mail: wdaniels@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7175
Address: CSES Dept
244 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0404

Shan Dexin,
E-mail: dexinsh8@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9739
Address: 303 Latham Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Jonathan Neil Dickerson, Field/Greenhouse Manager
E-mail: dickersj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6113
Address: CSES Dept Turf Center
615 Southgate Drive
Postal Code: 0404

Jason Doby, Soil Analyst
E-mail: doby2017@vt.edu

Patricia Frances Donovan, GIS Laboratory Manager
E-mail: patdonovan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9795
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences (MC 0404)
250 Smyth Hall, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Megan Dunford, Extension Program Coordinator
E-mail: megandunford@vt.edu

Stephanie Duston, Research Assistant
E-mail: stephad5@vt.edu

Daniel S Early, Agricultural Spec IV
E-mail: edaniel9@vt.edu
Address: VCE-Wise Co
PO Box 115
Wise, VA 24293
Postal Code: 0404

Matt Eick, Professor
E-mail: eick@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8943
Address: Matthew Eick
Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
236 Smyth Hall, 185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Ted Ellmore, Information Technologist
E-mail: tellmore@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6375
Address: CSES Dept.
Smyth Hall 249, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Brandon Dwayne England, Laboratory Mechanic B
E-mail: englandb@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6893
Address: Virginia Tech
145 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0712

Erik H Ervin, Dept. Head-Interim and Assistant Dean of Academic Programs
E-mail: ervin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9775
Address: 330 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Daniel M Evans, Research Associate
E-mail: daniel76@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9775
Address: 330 Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0303

Greg Evanylo, Professor
E-mail: gevanylo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9739
Address: CSES Dept
426 Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

John Fike, Assoc Professor
E-mail: jfike@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8654
Address: CSES Dept.
365 Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Joshua Carter Fitzgerald, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: fitz53@vt.edu
Phone: 804-333-3485
Address: Eastern Virginia AREC
2229 Menokin Road
Warsaw, VA 22572
Postal Code: 9999

Ronald F Follett, CSES Adjunct Professor

Takeshi Fukao, Assistant Professor
E-mail: fukao@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9527
Address: RB1880 Suite 1129
Room 1117
Postal Code: 0493

John M Galbraith, Associate Professor
E-mail: john.galbraith@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9784
Address: Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences (MC0404)
Smyth Hall, Room 239
Postal Code: 0404

Mike Goatley Jr, Professor
E-mail: goatley@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2951
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
420 Smyth Hall, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Carl Griffey, Professor
E-mail: cgriffey@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9789
Address: CSES Dept.
334A Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Kathryn C Haering, Research Associate
E-mail: khaering@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6482
Address: Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences (MC 0404)
238 Smyth Hall, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Thomas Hardiman, State Certification Program Manager
E-mail: hardiman@vt.edu
Phone: 804-746-4884
Address: CSES Dept./VA Tech/VCIA
9225 Atlee Branch Lane
Mechanicsville, VA 23116
Postal Code: 0404

Steve Heckendorn, Laboratory Manager
E-mail: soiltesting@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9807
Address: CSES Soil Testing Lab (MC 0465)
Smyth Hall, RM 145, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Ln
Postal Code: 0404

Steven C Hodges, Professor
E-mail: hodges@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8801
Address: Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences (0404)
Smyth Hall, Rm 339, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Elizabeth Rucker Hokanson, Research Associate
E-mail: egrucker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4490
Address: CSES Dept.
425B Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Tammy Holler, Nutrient Management Specialist
E-mail: tammyh3@vt.edu
Phone: 804-786-2235
Address: 600 E. Main St. - 4th Floor
Virginia Dept. of Conservation and Recreation
Soil and Water Conservation Division
Richmond, VA 23219
Postal Code: 0404

Kathryn S Huntley, Sporadic/Seasonal Worker
E-mail: huntleks@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6305
Address: CSES Dept
330 Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Ln
Postal Code: 0404

Abdel-Aty Mohamed Ibrahim,
Phone: 540-231-6305
Address: 328 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Andrew Karl Jensen, Agricultural Spec III
E-mail: ajensen1@vt.edu

Judy M Keister, Admin Asst to Head & Office Manager
E-mail: jkeister@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9775
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences (MC 0404)
Smyth Hall, Room 330, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Sara Koropchak Klopf, Research Associate
E-mail: ksara1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6482
Address: 238 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Brad Lael, Farm Manager
E-mail: blael@vt.edu
Phone: 540-672-2660
Address: PO Box 448
14471 Research Road
Orange, VA 22960
Postal Code: 0402

Megan Weiner Lang,
Phone: 301-504-5138
Address: USDA-ARS, HRSL
10300 Baltimore Avenue
Bldg 007, Room 104 BARC-West
Beltsville, MD 20705
Postal Code: 0404

Michelle Victoria Lee, Agricultural Specialist III
E-mail: michel1@vt.edu

Brandon Jeffrey Lester, Environmental Monitoring Technician
E-mail: brandon9@vt.edu

Song Li, Assistant Professor, Genomics and Bioinformatics
E-mail: songli@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2756
Address: 508 Latham CSES Department
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Jonathan Light, Research Specialist Sr.
E-mail: lightj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2694
Address: CSES Dept Virginia Tech
419a Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Limei Liu, Research Associate
E-mail: limeiliu@vt.edu
Address: Crop & Soil Enviromental Sciences
Latham Hall, RM 508, Virginia Tech
220 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Rory Owen Maguire, Professor
E-mail: rmaguire@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0472
Address: Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences MC 0404
428 Smyth Hall Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Sara McCartney,
Phone: 540-231-9323
Address: 330 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Steve Nagle, Research Specialist Senior
E-mail: snagle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4521
Address: 313 Latham Hall
220 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Drew Nagle, Lab & Field Assistant
E-mail: drewn3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9795
Address: 250 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Zenah W Orndorff, SR Research Associate
E-mail: zenah@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8659
Address: 250 Smyth Hall Crop and Soil
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Carla Pastorio,
E-mail: pcarla@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6305
Address: RB1880 Suite 1129 Room 1121
CSES Department
Postal Code: 0404

Evangeline Pent,

James E Perry, CSES Adjunct Professor
Phone: 804-684-7388
Address: Dept of Biological Sciences
VA Institute of Marine Science
P O Box 1346
Gloucester Point, VA 23062
Postal Code: 0404

Jennifer Price, Research Associate
E-mail: jenprice@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9782
Address: CSES Dept.
425A Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0404

French Price, Education Support Specialist III
E-mail: frenchprice@vt.edu

Tom Pridgen, Research Associate Sr.
E-mail: tpridgen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7452
Address: CSES Dept.
Agronomy Farm
1008 Old Mill Rd.
Postal Code: 0404

Brit Ritchey, Soil Analyst/Spectroscopist
E-mail: brit@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6893
Address: CSES Dept.
145 Smyth Hall (0465)
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Jerry L Rogers, Agricultural Inspector
E-mail: jeroger3@vt.edu

Luciana Rosso, Research Associate
E-mail: luciana@vt.edu
Address: Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences (MC0404)
533 Latham Hall, Virginia Tech
220 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

M. A. Saghai-Maroof, Professor
E-mail: smaroof@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9791
Address: RM 501 CSES Department MC0404
220 Ag Quad Lane Latham Hall 0113
Postal Code: 0404

Rachel R Saville, Education Support Specialist
E-mail: saville@vt.edu
Address: 185 Ag. Quad Lane
249 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0404

John E Seago, Lab & Research Specialist
E-mail: joseago@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2694
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences (0404)
Smyth Hall, RM 419A, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Chao Shang, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: chshang@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9801
Address: CSES Dept.
364 Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Ln
Postal Code: 0404

Rhonda S Shrader, Purchasing, Payroll, and HR Assistant
E-mail: rshrader@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6487
Address: Department of Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences (MC0404)
330 Smyth Hall, Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Jeffrey Sparks, Agricultural Spec II
E-mail: sparksj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-672-2660
Address: Northern Piedmont Center
14471 Research Road
Orange, VA 22960
Postal Code: 0404

Meredith Steele, Assistant Professor
E-mail: steelem@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0312
Address: Department of Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
Smyth Hall Room 328-A Virginia Tech
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Ryan Stewart, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ryan.stewart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0253
Address: Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences (0404)
Smyth Hall, Room 241, 185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Jen Stewart, Student Support Coordinator
E-mail: jen.stewart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9785
Address: 240 Smyth Hall - CSES Dept
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Dylan Tyler Tauber, Lab & Field Assistant
E-mail: ttdylan7@vt.edu

Pamela J Thomas, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: pjthomas@vt.edu

Wade Everett Thomason, Professor
E-mail: wthomaso@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2988
Address: Department of Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
422 Smyth Hall (0404)
185 Ag Quad Ln
Postal Code: 0404

Tiffany M Thompson, Lab Technician
E-mail: tiffanyt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6893
Address: CSES Dept. 0404
145 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0404

Athena M Tilley, ICP Spectroscopist
E-mail: athena@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9806
Address: CSES Dept.
Soil Testing Laboratory
143 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0404

Ralph W Tiner,

Dianne Toney, Office Services Spec S8
E-mail: dianne.toney@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6893
Address: CSES Dept.
145 Smyth Hall, Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0404

Benjamin F. Tracy, Associate Professor
E-mail: bftracy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8259
Address: 335 Smyth Hall
CSES Dept
Postal Code: 0404

Philip R Troutman, Field Inspector
E-mail: tphilip1@vt.edu

Mark E Vaughn, Research Specialist Senior
E-mail: mvaughn@vt.edu
Phone: 804-333-3485
Address: CSES Dept.
Eastern Va. Ag. Res.&Ext. Ctr
2229 Menokin Rd.
Warsaw, VA 22572
Postal Code: 0404

Lucas Waller, Research Associate, Analytical Biology and Chemistry
E-mail: ljwaller@vt.edu

Amy Weldon, Lab & Field Assistant
E-mail: amyw92@vt.edu

Timothy Patrick West, Programmer
E-mail: tpwest@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5312
Address: CSES Dept. 0404
427 Smyth Hall

Kinsey Wilk, Lab & Field Assistant
E-mail: kinsey@vt.edu

Tad Williams, Nutrient Management Specialist
E-mail: taw1776@vt.edu
Phone: 540-290-3602
Address: Virginia Dept. of Conservation and Recreation
600 E Main St. 4th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
Postal Code: 0404

Chantel Marie Wilson, Urban Nutrient Management Technician
E-mail: cwilson5@vt.edu
Phone: 804-887-8917
Address: Soil and Water Conservation Division
600 E Main Street 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
Postal Code: 0404

Kang Xia, Professor
E-mail: kxia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9323
Address: Department of Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences
Research Building 15 Room 1120B
1880 Pratt Dr.
Postal Code: 0493

Xunzhong Zhang, Research Assistant Professor
E-mail: xuzhang@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9788
Address: RB1880
367 Smyth Hall
Postal Code: 0493

Bo Zhang, Research Assistant Professor
E-mail: bozhang@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1731
Address: 220 Ag Quad Lane
Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences Dept
Postal Code: 0404

Damai Zhou,
Phone: 540-231-9775
Address: 330 Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0404

Carl E Zipper, Professor
E-mail: czip@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9782
Address: 416 Smyth Hall
185 Ag Quad Lane
Postal Code: 0404

Richard W Zobel, CSES Adjunct Professor
E-mail: rhizo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9775
Address: CSES Dept.
330 Smyth Hall
VA Tech
Postal Code: 0404


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.