Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

331 Major Williams Hall (0225)
220 Stanger St
Phone: (540) 231-5362
FAX: (540) 231-4812
Web: http://liberalarts.vt.edu/departments-and-schools/department-of-modern-and-classical-languages-and-l
Jacqueline Bixler, Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8632
E-mail: jbixler@vt.edu
R. Pennington, Executive Secretary/Bookkeeper
Phone: (540) 231-9160

Staff in Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

Katie Akers, Fiscal Support Specialist
E-mail: klavt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2571
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
331A Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0225

Joshua Steven Alvizu, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: ajoshua8@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
Surge 108
Postal Code: 0225

Catalina Del Pilar Andrango-Walker, Assistant Professor
E-mail: candrang@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
301 Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0225

Elisabeth L Austin, Associate Professor
E-mail: elaustin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
Major Williams, 307, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Ahmad Azzam, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: ahmed62@vt.edu
Address: 108 Surge
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Esther K Bauer, Associate Professor
E-mail: bauere@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9846
Address: Foreing Language & Lit MC0225
220 Stanger St Major Williams 330
Postal Code: 0225

Andrew S Becker, Associate Professor
E-mail: abecker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Major Williams 337 MC0225
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Jacqueline E Bixler, Professor and Chair
E-mail: jbixler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8632
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 331C, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Maria D Cana Jimenez, Assistant Professor
E-mail: canajime@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 332, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Lucian Chaffey,
E-mail: lucianc9@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Language & Literatures
Swinburg University of Technology
Melbourne,
Australia

Rebecca Chang, Instructor AY
E-mail: rebecc2@vt.edu

Matthew Coble, Office Worker
E-mail: mccoble@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9160
Address: 331 Major Williams Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Melissa Anne Coburn, Associate Professor
E-mail: mcoburn8@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreing Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 328, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Addison Ray Dalton, Instructor
E-mail: addalton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Liberal Arts Building, 302, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Alexander Dickow, Assistant Profesor
E-mail: ard@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreing Languages & Literatures MC0225
Major Williams 314 Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Robert O Efird, Associate Professor
E-mail: refird@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreing Languages & Literatures MC0225
Major Williams 305 Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Kelly Lynn Elaouadi, Sporadic worker
E-mail: kellylt@vt.edu

Jessica Folkart, Professor
E-mail: jfolkart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9076
Address: Foreign Langueges & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 323, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Aarnes Gudmestad, Associate Professor
E-mail: agudmest@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 319, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0335

Medoune Gueye, Assoc Professor
E-mail: mgueye@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8317
Address: Foreing Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 321, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Franklin Guzman-Zamora,
E-mail: guzmanz@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8300
Address: 302 Major Williams Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Ester F Hallerman, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: esterh56@vt.edu
Address: Surge 108
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Maria Hatzios, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: mhatzios@vt.edu
Address: Surge 108
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0227

Annie Hesp, Instructor
E-mail: ahesp@vt.edu
Address: 329 Major Williams
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Stefanie Hofer, Assistant Professor
E-mail: hofer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 304, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Sharon P Johnson, Associate Professor
E-mail: spjohnso@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9859
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 317, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Carolyn D Kletnieks, Advanced IT Technician
E-mail: carolynk@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5433
Address: CLAHS Info Technology Svc Unit (0225)
Depts of Philosophy/Foreign Languages and Literatures
218 Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0317

Yasuko Kumazawa, Instructor
E-mail: kumazawa@vt.edu
Address: Surge 108
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Jay Michael Layne, Instructor
E-mail: jmlayne@vt.edu
Address: 329 Major Williams
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Nancy Patricia Lopez-Romero, Instructor
E-mail: paloma@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3702
Address: Foreign Languages & Lit MC0225
220 Stanger St Liberal Arts Bldg 306
Postal Code: 0225

Tatiana P McKagen, Instructor
E-mail: tamckage@vt.edu
Address: Surge 108
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Teruyo Uraga Mercer, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: teruyo95@vt.edu

Amina Mezdour, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: amezdour@vt.edu

Nyusya Milman-Miller, Associate Professor
E-mail: nmilman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreing Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 302, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Yuliya Minkova, Assistant Professor
E-mail: yuliyam1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: 309 Major Williams Hall
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0335

Sulagna Mishra, Instructor AY
E-mail: sulagm1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: 314 Major Williams
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Gonzalo Montero, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: montero@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: 331 Major Williams
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Xiaojin Zhang Moore, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: xjzhang@vt.edu
Address: Surge 108
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0273

Ragheda Nassereddine, Instructor
E-mail: ragheda5@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
310 Major Williams Hall
220 STanger
Postal Code: 0225

Corinne Noirot, Associate Professor
E-mail: cnoirot@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8563
Address: 333 Major Williams Hall Foreign Lang
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Moses Panford Jr, Assoc Professor
E-mail: mpanford@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9085
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 311, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Rhonda J Pennington, Office and Fiscal Manager
E-mail: rwills@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9160
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 326, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Richard L Phillips, Assistant Professor
E-mail: rphllps@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 331, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Rosa Pheleiah-Hopelette Ponton, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: rosap@vt.edu

Patrick Thomas Ridge, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: ptridge@vt.edu

Kirsten Rutsala, Instructor AY
E-mail: krutsala@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: 314 Major Williams
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0225

Pam Saville, Office Services Specialist
E-mail: psaville@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 331B, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Michael Sguerri, Instructor
E-mail: sguerri@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
303 Performing Arts/Liberal Arts Building
220 Stanger
Postal Code: 0225

Richard L Shryock, Assoc Professor
E-mail: shryock@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4605
Address: Foreign Languages and Literatures MC0225
335 Major Williams Hall
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Sarah Sierra, Associate Professor
E-mail: ssierra2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 315, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0335

Nadine Adel Sinno, Assistant Professor
E-mail: nadine7@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: 306 Major Williams
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Alejandra Beatriz Sobrado, Instructor
E-mail: asobrado@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: 316 Major Williams Hall
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Christine Steer, Instructor
E-mail: cygnet@vt.edu
Address: 243 Lane Hall
(0225)
Postal Code: 0227

William Clinton Taggart, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: wtaggart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5361
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
306 Major Williams
Postal Code: 0225

Fabrice G Teulon, Associate Professor
E-mail: fteulon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreing Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 325, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Justo C Ulloa, Professor Emeritus of Spanish
E-mail: julloa@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8314
Address: Foreign Langs. & Lits.
337 Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0225

Griselle Vargas, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: gvargas@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatrues (MC0225)
Surge 108
Postal Code: 0121

Vinodh Venkatesh, Associate Professor
E-mail: vinodhv@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5362
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures (MC0225)
Major Williams, 339, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Janell Watson, Professor
E-mail: rjwatson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9009
Address: Foreign Languages & Literatures
Major Williams, 341, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0225

Yumiko Younos, Instructor
E-mail: yyounos@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1896
Address: Foreign Languages & Lit MC0225
Surge 108
Postal Code: 0225

Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Download a PDF of the latest University Department Directory.

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Virginia Tech Buildings

Street Addresses

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.