Skip Menu

Department Information

English

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner St NW
Phone: (540) 231-8466
FAX: (540) 231-5692
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu
Joe Eska, Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8466
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Patty Morse, Assistant to the Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8466
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu

Center for Applied Technologies in the Humanities (CATH)

Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-7663
FAX:
Web: http://wiz2.cath.vt.edu/
D. Radcliffe, Director
Phone: (540) 231-7663
E-mail: drad@vt.edu

Center for the Study of Rhetoric in Society

340E Shanks Hall
Phone: (540) 231-8458
FAX:
E-mail: rhetoric@vt.edu
Web: http://www.rhetoric.english.vt.edu/
K. Belanger, Director
Phone: (540) 231-8458
E-mail: krbelang@vt.edu

English Graduate Studies Office

310 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-4659
FAX:
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu/graduate/
J. Eska, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4659
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Sally Wieringa, Graduate Programs Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-4659
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu

English Undergraduate Studies Office

329 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-6515
FAX:
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu/undergraduate/
L. C. Skinner, Coordinator, Undergraduate Advising
Phone: (540) 231-6515
E-mail: lskinner@vt.edu
D. Hezel, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-6515
E-mail: dhezel@vt.edu

Writing Center

340 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-5436
FAX:
Web: http://www.composition.english.vt.edu/wc/WC_Home.html
Jenny Lawrence, Writing Center Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-5436
E-mail: jlwrnc@vt.edu
S. Ross, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-5436
E-mail: sdavis60@vt.edu

Staff in English

Leslie K Adams,

Robin M Allnutt, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: robinallnutt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8301
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Linda Anderson, Professor Emerita of English
E-mail: lianders@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8459
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Mark R Armstrong, Senior Instructor
E-mail: marmstro@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8413
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
441 Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Shaun Baker, Instructor
E-mail: shibadou@vt.edu

Hannah Baker, Instructor
E-mail: nettab@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4729
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Barton, Instructor
E-mail: jenbarton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6983
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
329B Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Carl N Bean, Instructor
E-mail: cbean@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8450
Address: Department of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Michael J Bliss, Senior Instructor
E-mail: mbliss@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7695
Address: 200 East Eggleston
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0112

Elisabeth Louise Bloomer, Senior Instructor
E-mail: ebloomer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8523
Address: Dept. of English
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Andrew Joseph Boysen,

Rita Nakashima Brock,

Robert H Canter, Senior Instructor
E-mail: bcanter@vt.edu
Phone: 231-540-6749
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Katie Carmichael, Assistant Professor
E-mail: katcarm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7712
Address: 407 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sheila Carter-Tod, Associate Professor and Director of Composition
E-mail: sct@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8448
Address: English Dept (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Gena Elise Chandler-Smith, Associate Professor
E-mail: gechandl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7796
Address: Department of English
Va. Tech
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Katharine Cleland, Assistant Professor
E-mail: kcleland@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6322
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Anthony J Colaianne, Assoc Professor and Associate Chair
E-mail: acolaian@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4975
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
427 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Zana K Combiths, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: combiths@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8396
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Carolyn Commer, Visiting Asst Professor AY
E-mail: ccommer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St
Postal Code: 0112

Sean Reed Conaway, Instructor
E-mail: seanconaway@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0684
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0112

William C Corley,

James R Craig,

Nancy L Dallett,

Andrew Darien,

Elizabeth Frances Desnoyers-Colas,

Jim Dubinsky, Director of Undergraduate Studies
E-mail: dubinsky@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1939
Address: 340c Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Susan Eastman,

Joe Eska, Professor & Department Chair
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8466
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Charlene Marie Eska, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ceska@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2374
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Carlos Evia Puerto, Associate Professor, Director of Professional Writing
E-mail: carlos.evia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7902
Address: Dept of English
323 Shanks Hall 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Edward C Falco, Professor & Dir. Creative Writing
E-mail: efalco@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7743
Address: Dept. of English MC 0112
323 Shanks Hall 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Virginia Fowler, Professor & Dir. LLC
E-mail: vfowler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6919
Address: English Dept. (0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Elena Marie Friot,

Serena Deann Frost, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: serenafrost@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4271
Address: English Department (0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Thomas M Gardner, Professor
E-mail: tom.gardner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6901
Address: English Dept MC 0112
323 Shanks Hall 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Traci Gardner, Instructor
E-mail: tengrrl@vt.edu
Address: VPI & SU
Dept. of English
Postal Code: 0112

Diana L George, Professor & Director of the Writing Center
E-mail: dianag@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9270
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Jared A Gibbs, Instructor
E-mail: jagibbs2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8308
Address: 425 Shanks Hall Virginia Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0138

Nikki Giovanni, University Distinguished Professor
E-mail: ngiovann@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7785
Address: Shanks Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0112

Judy B Grady, Fiscal Technician
E-mail: jbgrady@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6350
Address: Dept of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Peter W Graham, Professor
E-mail: pegraham@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6715
Address: Dept of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Ren Harman, Project Manager
E-mail: harman07@vt.edu

D Alexis Hart,

Joann Harvill, Senior Instructor
E-mail: jharvill@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7114
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Len Hatfield, Assoc Professor
E-mail: len.hatfield@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: CATH
Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Bernice L Hausman, Professor
E-mail: bhausman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5076
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner st NW
Postal Code: 0112

Philip Wesley Hayek, Instructor
E-mail: phayek@vt.edu

Paul Heilker, Associate Professor & Dir. Rhetoric and Writing
E-mail: paul.heilker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8444
Address: Department of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sarah Helwig, Enrollment Services Assistant
E-mail: shelwig2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4659
Address: 310 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Louis Hicks,

Bob Hicok, Associate Professor
E-mail: bob-hicok@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4479
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Norma Jean Honaker,

Robert Jordan Jacks, Student Development Assistant
E-mail: rjacks@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6515
Address: 329 Shanks Hall
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0112

Ingrid Liv Johnson, Administrative Assistant
E-mail: ingridb@vt.edu

Kristin G Kelly,

Christine Kiebuzinska, Professor Emerita of English
E-mail: chrystia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7712
Address: English
Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Alice F Kinder, Senior Instructor
E-mail: akinder@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6524
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
453 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Shoshana Knapp, Associate Professor
E-mail: dashiell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8462
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Beth Ann Koelsch,

Edward Andrew Lautenschlager, Instructor
E-mail: elautens@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5468
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Lawrence, Senior Instructor
E-mail: jlwrnc@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9270
Address: 2005 Newman Library
560 Drillfield Drive
Postal Code: 0112

Victoria Ann Le Corre-Cochran, Instructor
E-mail: vlecorre@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7797
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Kevin Lewis, Asst Professor of Practice
E-mail: kevlewis@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8459
Address: 351 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Justin Lewis, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: jlewis16@vt.edu

Hilary Lithgow,

Penny Livesay, Instructor
E-mail: plivesay@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2624
Postal Code: 0112

Andrea E Lloyd, Non-Inst PT Temp Fac/Sum Res
E-mail: andrel3@vt.edu

Jeff Mann, Associate Professor
E-mail: jeffmann@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7706
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Michelle Maycock, Instructor
E-mail: mmayco@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7915
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Amanda McGlone, Instructor AY
E-mail: akm1231@vt.edu

Erika Sharon Meitner, Associate Professor
E-mail: meitner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7728
Address: Dept of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Julie Lynn Mengert, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: jmengert@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5352
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Nancy Aycock Metz, Professor
E-mail: nancy.metz@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8467
Address: 323 Shanks Hall Dept of English
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Steve Mooney, Senior Instructor
E-mail: pinemtn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8449
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Mooney, Senior Instructor
E-mail: jenmoon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Mary D Moore, Senior Instructor
E-mail: mmoore@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7693
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Patricia Bland Morse, Administrative Assistant to the Chair
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8466
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Mathew Moses,
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Aileen Murphy, Senior Instructor
E-mail: aileen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4747
Address: English Dept MC0112
323 Shanks Hall 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sarah Myers,
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Leslie Neilan, Senior Instructor
E-mail: lneilan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9453
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
212 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner ST NW
Postal Code: 0112

David Noon,
Phone: 907-723-7730
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Steve Oakey, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: soakey@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6568
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Fritz H Oehlschlaeger, Professor Emeritus of English
E-mail: fritzoeh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5138
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Meredith Oyen,
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Timothy Parrish, Professor
E-mail: parrisht@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7753
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Herbert R Patton III, Senior Instructor
E-mail: hrpatton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9177
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Kelly Elizabeth Pender, Associate Professor
E-mail: pender@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7721
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Katrina M Powell, Associate Professor
E-mail: kmpowell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7759
Address: Center for Rhetoric in Society/Department of English
340E Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

David H Radcliffe, Professor
E-mail: drad@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7663
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Ashley Reed, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: akreed@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8650
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sandra Ross, Program Support Technician
E-mail: sdavis60@vt.edu
Address: University Libraries(0434)
560 Drillfield Drive
Postal Code: 0112

Lucinda H Roy, Alumni Distinguished Professor
E-mail: lroy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6146
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Vanessa L Ruccolo, Advance Instructor
E-mail: vruccolo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6175
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
329 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Carolyn D Rude, Professor Emerita of English
E-mail: carolyn.rude@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 452 Shanks Hall
English Dept.
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Sano-Franchini, Assistant Professor
E-mail: sanojenn@vt.edu
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
408 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Joseph R Scallorns, Advance Instructor
E-mail: jscallorns@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4500
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Robert B Siegle, Professor Emeritus of English
E-mail: rsiegle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7739
Address: Department of English (0112)
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Linda C Skinner, Senior Instructor, Coordinator of Undergraduate Advising
E-mail: lskinner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8340
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
433 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Michael S Smith, Senior Instructor
E-mail: drmike@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8287
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Ernie Sullivan II, Professor Emeritus of English
E-mail: ewsii@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6918
Address: English
Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Karen Swenson, Assoc Professor
E-mail: karens@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8350
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Bridget Szerszynski, Administrative Assistant
E-mail: bridgs9@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Department of English (MC0112)
Postal Code: 0112

Tara Tappert,
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Kim Theriault,
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Eve Marie Trager, Technical Support
E-mail: etrager@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6566
Address: 335 Shanks 181 Turner St NW
English Department MC0112
Postal Code: 0112

Joseph Thomas Truscello, Instructor AY
E-mail: josephtt@vt.edu

Robert Uren, Instructor AY
E-mail: uren@vt.edu

Matthew Vollmer, Assistant Professor
E-mail: vollmer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8322
Address: English Department (MC0112)
431 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Gyorgyi Voros, Senior Instructor
E-mail: gmvoros@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5647
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Abby Walker, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ajwalker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5138
Address: 409 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Christopher Webb,
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 181 Turner Street
323 Shanks Hall, MC 0112
Postal Code: 0112

Jane A Wemhoener, Senior Instructor, Coordinator-International Programs
E-mail: jwemhoen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7299
Address: Dept of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va Tech
Postal Code: 0112


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.