Skip Menu

Department Information

English

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner St NW
Phone: (540) 231-8466
FAX: (540) 231-5692
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu
Joe Eska, Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8466
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Patty Morse, Assistant to the Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8466
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu

Center for Applied Technologies in the Humanities (CATH)

Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-7663
FAX:
Web: http://wiz2.cath.vt.edu/
D. Radcliffe, Director
Phone: (540) 231-7663
E-mail: drad@vt.edu

Center for the Study of Rhetoric in Society

340E Shanks Hall
Phone: (540) 231-8458
FAX:
E-mail: rhetoric@vt.edu
Web: http://www.rhetoric.english.vt.edu/
K. Belanger, Director
Phone: (540) 231-8458
E-mail: krbelang@vt.edu

English Graduate Studies Office

310 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-4659
FAX:
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu/graduate/
J. Eska, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4659
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Sally Wieringa, Graduate Programs Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-4659
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu

English Undergraduate Studies Office

329 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-6515
FAX:
Web: http://www.english.vt.edu/undergraduate/
L. C. Skinner, Coordinator, Undergraduate Advising
Phone: (540) 231-6515
E-mail: lskinner@vt.edu
D. Hezel, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-6515
E-mail: dhezel@vt.edu

Writing Center

340 Shanks Hall (0112)
Phone: (540) 231-5436
FAX:
Web: http://www.composition.english.vt.edu/wc/WC_Home.html
Jenny Lawrence, Writing Center Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-5436
E-mail: jlwrnc@vt.edu
S. Ross, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-5436
E-mail: sdavis60@vt.edu

Staff in English

Robin M Allnutt, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: robinallnutt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8301
Address: Dept of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Linda Anderson, Professor Emerita of English
E-mail: lianders@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8459
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Mark R Armstrong, Senior Instructor
E-mail: marmstro@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8413
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
441 Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Ingrid Liv Baker, Administrative Assistant
E-mail: ingridb@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1247
Address: VA Cooperative Extension
106B Hutcheson Hall
Postal Code: 0437

Shaun Baker, Instructor AY
E-mail: shibadou@vt.edu

Hannah Baker, Instructor AY
E-mail: nettab@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4729
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Barton, Instructor
E-mail: jenbarton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6983
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
329B Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Carl N Bean, Instructor
E-mail: cbean@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8450
Address: Department of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Kelly Belanger, Associate Professor
E-mail: kelly.belanger@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8458
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Michael J Bliss, Senior Instructor
E-mail: mbliss@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7695
Address: 200 East Eggleston
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0112

Elisabeth Louise Bloomer, Senior Instructor
E-mail: ebloomer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8523
Address: Dept. of English
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Robert H Canter, Senior Instructor
E-mail: bcanter@vt.edu
Phone: 231-540-6749
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall
Va. Tech, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Katie Carmichael, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: katcarm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7712
Address: 407 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sheila Carter-Tod, Associate Professor and Director of Composition
E-mail: sct@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8448
Address: English Dept (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Gena Elise Chandler-Smith, Associate Professor
E-mail: gechandl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7796
Address: Department of English
Va. Tech
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Katharine Cleland, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: kcleland@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6322
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Anthony J Colaianne, Assoc Professor and Associate Chair
E-mail: acolaian@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5152
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Zana K Combiths, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: combiths@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8396
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Sean Reed Conaway, Instructor AY
E-mail: seanconaway@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0684
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner Street NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sara Margaret Crickenberger, Instructor
E-mail: smcrick@vt.edu
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
221 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Frederick M D'Aguiar, Gloria D. Smith Professor of Africana Studies
E-mail: fredd@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7759
Address: Dept. of English
323 Shanks Hill, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Jim Dubinsky, Director of Undergraduate Studies
E-mail: dubinsky@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1939
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Joe Eska, Professor & Department Chair
E-mail: eska@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8466
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Charlene Marie Eska, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ceska@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2374
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Carlos Evia Puerto, Associate Professor, Director of Professional Writing
E-mail: carlos.evia@vt.edu
Phone: 504-231-7902
Address: Dept. of English
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Edward C Falco, Professor & Dir. Creative Writing
E-mail: efalco@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7743
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Virginia Fowler, Professor & Dir. LLC
E-mail: vfowler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6919
Address: English Dept. (0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Serena Deann Frost, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: serenafrost@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4271
Address: English Department (0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Thomas M Gardner, Professor
E-mail: tom.gardner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6901
Address: English Dept (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Traci Gardner, Instructor AY
E-mail: tengrrl@vt.edu
Address: VPI & SU
Dept. of English
Postal Code: 0112

Diana L George, Professor & Director of the Writing Center
E-mail: dianag@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9270
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Jared A Gibbs, Instructor
E-mail: jagibbs2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8308
Address: Department of English (0112)
425 Shanks Hall, Virginia Tech
181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0138

Nikki Giovanni, University Distinguished Professor
E-mail: ngiovann@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7785
Address: Dpt. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Judy B Grady, Fiscal Technician
E-mail: jbgrady@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6350
Address: Dept of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Kathryn V Graham, Senior Instructor
E-mail: kagraham@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6212
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Peter W Graham, Professor
E-mail: pegraham@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6715
Address: Dept of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Susan A Hagedorn, Senior Instructor
E-mail: hagedors@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4748
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Joann Harvill, Senior Instructor
E-mail: jharvill@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7114
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Len Hatfield, Assoc Professor
E-mail: len.hatfield@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: CATH
Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Bernice L Hausman, Professor
E-mail: bhausman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5076
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner st NW
Postal Code: 0112

Paul Heilker, Associate Professor & Dir. Rhetoric and Writing
E-mail: paul.heilker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8444
Address: Department of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Nadeen S Hezel, Program Support Technician
E-mail: dhezel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6515
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Bob Hicok, Associate Professor
E-mail: bob-hicok@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4479
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Samuel James, Emergency Wage Hire
E-mail: sjames96@vt.edu

Christine Kiebuzinska, Professor Emerita of English
E-mail: chrystia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7712
Address: English
Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Alice F Kinder, Senior Instructor
E-mail: akinder@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6524
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
453 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Shoshana Knapp, Associate Professor
E-mail: dashiell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8462
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Edward Andrew Lautenschlager, Instructor
E-mail: elautens@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0684
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Lawrence, Senior Instructor
E-mail: jlwrnc@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8469
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Victoria Ann Le Corre-Cochran, Instructor
E-mail: vlecorrec@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7797
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Kevin Lewis, Instructor AY
E-mail: kevlewis@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8459
Address: 351 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Penny Livesay, Instructor
E-mail: plivesay@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2624
Postal Code: 0112

Jeff Mann, Associate Professor
E-mail: jeffmann@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7706
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Stephanie Martin, Instructor
E-mail: stbaker3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8446
Address: Virginia Tech
English Department (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Michelle Maycock, Instructor
E-mail: mmayco@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7915
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Elizabeth Ann Mazzolini, Visiting Assistant Professor
E-mail: mazz@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4729
Address: Department of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Madalena Rose McNeil, Non-Inst PT Temp Fac/Sum Res
E-mail: mmcneil3@vt.edu

Erika Sharon Meitner, Associate Professor
E-mail: meitner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7728
Address: Dept of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Julie Lynn Mengert, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: jmengert@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5352
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Nancy Aycock Metz, Professor
E-mail: nmetz@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8467
Address: Dept. of English (MC 0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Steve Mooney, Senior Instructor
E-mail: pinemtn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8449
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Mooney, Senior Instructor
E-mail: jenmoon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Mary D Moore, Senior Instructor
E-mail: mmoore@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7693
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Patricia Bland Morse, Administrative Assistant to the Chair
E-mail: pattym1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8466
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Daniel W Mosser, Professor Emeritus of English
E-mail: dmosser@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7753
Address: English Dept MC0112
323 Shanks Hall 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Aileen Murphy, Senior Instructor
E-mail: aileen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4747
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Leslie Neilan, Senior Instructor
E-mail: lneilan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9453
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
212 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner ST NW
Postal Code: 0112

Steve Oakey, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: soakey@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6568
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Fritz H Oehlschlaeger, Professor Emeritus of English
E-mail: fritzoeh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5138
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Timothy Parrish, Professor AY
E-mail: parrisht@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7753
Address: 323 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Herbert R Patton III, Senior Instructor
E-mail: hrpatton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9177
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St, NW
Postal Code: 0112

Kelly Elizabeth Pender, Associate Professor
E-mail: pender@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7721
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Katrina M Powell, Associate Professor
E-mail: kmpowell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5932
Address: Women's and Gender Studies
507 McBryde Hall (0137)
English Office: 306 Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

David H Radcliffe, Professor
E-mail: drad@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7663
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Suzanne B Reisinger, Senior Instructor
E-mail: sreising@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6513
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, Va. Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sandra Ross, Program Support Technician
E-mail: sdavis60@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5436
Address: English Department (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner ST NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Lucinda H Roy, Alumni Distinguished Professor
E-mail: lroy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6146
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Vanessa L Ruccolo, Advance Instructor
E-mail: vruccolo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6175
Address: Department of English (MC 0112)
329 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Sue Saffle, Senior Instructor
E-mail: gsaffle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8461
Address: English Dpet (MC0112)
223 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Scott L Sanders, Instructor
E-mail: ssanders@vt.edu
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Jennifer Sano-Franchini, Assistant Professor
E-mail: sanojenn@vt.edu
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
408 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Joseph R Scallorns, Advance Instructor
E-mail: jscallorns@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4500
Address: Dept. of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Robert B Siegle, Director, Center for 21st Century Studies
E-mail: rsiegle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1629
Address: Center for 21st Century Studies (0920)
East Ambler Johnston, Rm 1319c, Virginia Tech
700 Washington St. SW
Postal Code: 0112

Linda C Skinner, Senior Instructor, Coordinator of Undergraduate Advising
E-mail: lskinner@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8340
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
433 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Michael S Smith, Senior Instructor
E-mail: drmike@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8287
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Paul M Sorrentino, Clifford A. Cutchins III Professor
E-mail: psorrent@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8650
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Ernie Sullivan II, Professor Emeritus of English
E-mail: ewsii@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6918
Address: English
Shanks Hall
Postal Code: 0112

Karen Swenson, Assoc Professor
E-mail: karens@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8350
Address: English Dept. (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Bridget Szerszynski, Administrative Assistant
E-mail: bridgs9@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6501
Address: 323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Department of English (MC0112)
Postal Code: 0112

Eve Marie Trager, Technical Support
E-mail: etrager@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6566
Address: 335 Shanks 181 Turner St NW
English Department MC0112
Postal Code: 0112

Matthew Vollmer, Assistant Professor
E-mail: vollmer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8322
Address: English Department (MC0112)
431 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St
Va. Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Gyorgyi Voros, Senior Instructor
E-mail: gmvoros@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5647
Address: English Dept (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Abby Walker, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: ajwalker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5138
Address: 409 Shanks Hall
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Quinn Warnick, Assistant Professor
E-mail: qwarnick@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8321
Address: Department of English (MC0112)
427 Shanks Hall, Virginia Tech
181 Turner St. NW
Postal Code: 0112

Jane A Wemhoener, Senior Instructor, Coordinator-International Programs
E-mail: jwemhoen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7299
Address: Dept of English (MC0112)
323 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner St NW
Va Tech
Postal Code: 0112

Sally Wieringa, Graduate Programs Support Tech./Publications and Web Asst.
E-mail: sallyw@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4659
Address: English Department (0112)
310 Shanks Hall, Va Tech
181 Turner St NW
Postal Code: 0112

Marissa Wilder, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: marissaw@vt.edu


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.