Skip Menu

Department Information

Geosciences

4044 Derring Hall (0420)
1405 Perry St
Phone: (540) 231-6521
FAX: (540) 231-3386
E-mail: geosciences@vt.edu
Web: http://www.geos.vt.edu/
N.L. Ross, Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-6894
E-mail: nross@vt.edu
S.J. Collins, Asst. to the Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-6894
E-mail: sharon72@vt.edu


K.J. Thomason, Business Manager
Phone: (540) 231-8822
E-mail: thomasoj@vt.edu
C.A. Lowe, Coordinator for Undergrad/Graduate Programs
Phone: (540) 231-8824
E-mail: clowe@vt.edu


M.L. McMurray, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-6521
E-mail: mcmurray@vt.edu


M.C. Chapman, Director, Seismological Observatory
Phone: (540) 231-5036
S.J. Collins, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-6894
E-mail: sharon72@vt.edu

Museum of Geosciences

2062 Derring Hall
Phone: (540) 231-6894
FAX:
Web: http://www.outreach.geos.vt.edu
R.J. Tracy, Museum Director
Phone: (540) 231-5980
E-mail: rtracy@vt.edu
E.C. Mathena, Tour Information
Phone: (540) 231-6894
E-mail: mathena@vt.edu

Staff in Geosciences

Ross J Angel, Research Professor
Phone: 540-231-7974
Address: 2029 Integrated Life Sci. Bldg
1981 Kraft Drive
Postal Code: 0913

Deborah M Aruguete, Assoc. Director, VT Sun
E-mail: aruguete@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences Department
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0420

Jacob Nathan Beale, Research Associate
E-mail: jabeale@vt.edu

James S Beard, Adjunct Professor
E-mail: jsbeard@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences
Virginia Tech
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Barbara M Bekken, Assistant Professor
E-mail: bekken@vt.edu
Address: Department of Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall (0420)
Postal Code: 0420

Robert J Bodnar, Univ. Distinguished Prof.
E-mail: rjb@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7455
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM 4053, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Tom Burbey, Professor
E-mail: tjburbey@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6696
Address: Department of Geosciences MC0420
1405 Perry St Derring Hall 3049-A
Postal Code: 0420

Mark Caddick, Assistant Professor
E-mail: caddick@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9919
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM 5060, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Martin C Chapman, Research Associate Professor
E-mail: mcc@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5036
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall RM 1059 Virginia Tech
1405 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0420

John Chermak, Collegiate Associate Professor
E-mail: jchermak@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2499
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM 2069A, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0420

Sharon Collins, Receptionist
E-mail: sharon72@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: Geosciences
1405 Perry ST.
4044 Derring Hall (0420)
Postal Code: 0420

Patricia Dove, University Distinguished Professor & Miles Prof. of Science
E-mail: dove@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2444
Address: Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM 5109, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Besim Dragovic, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: dragovic@vt.edu
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM 1058, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Elizabeth Dunsmore,

James Dunson, IT Specialist
E-mail: jdunson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5124
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 1049, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Ken Eriksson, Professor
E-mail: kaeson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4680
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM 2045, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Charles Walter Farley, Laboratory Technician
E-mail: farleyc@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4872
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 4059, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Luca Fedele, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: lfedele@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8754
Address: Department of Geosciences
5053 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Esteban Gazel, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: egazel@vt.edu

Gerald V Gibbs, Univ Dis Prof of Geosciences & Materials Science Engr
E-mail: ggibbs@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Benjamin C Gill, Assistant Professor
E-mail: bcgill@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7485
Address: Dept. of Geosciences Mail Code 0420
Derring Hall, Room 2043, Va Tech
1405 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0420

Gary Glesener, Director Geos Curr Model Lab
E-mail: gbglesener@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6028
Address: Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM4044, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Nizhou Han, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: nhan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2403
Address: Geosciences
5081C Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

William Henika, Non-Inst PT Temp Fac/Sum Res
E-mail: bhenika@vt.edu

Michael F Hochella Jr, University Distinguished Professor
E-mail: hochella@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6227
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
5049 Derring Hall
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Steve Holbrook, Professor and Department Head
E-mail: wstevenh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: 4044 Derring Hall
926 West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0420

John Andrew Hole, Professor
E-mail: hole@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3858
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 2300, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Sayako Inoue, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: sinoue@vt.edu

Neil Johnson, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: johnsonne@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1785
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 2069B, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Scott David King, Professor
E-mail: sking07@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8954
Address: Department of Geosciences MC0420
Derring Hall Roon 3056
1405 Perry St
Postal Code: 0420

Rita Klebesz,
E-mail: krita@vt.edu

Michal Kowalewski, Professor
E-mail: michalk@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: 4044 Derring Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0420

James B Langridge, Electronic Technician Sr.
E-mail: jlangri@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5264
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 1051A, Virginia Tech
926 West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0420

Richard D Law, Professor
E-mail: rdlaw@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6685
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, 5105A, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Mark L Lemon, Electronic Technician Sr.
E-mail: lemonm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5129
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 1057B, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Connie Lowe, Student Program Coordinator & Advisor
E-mail: clowe@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8824
Address: Department of Geosciences
Derring Hall, RM 4050, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0420

Robert P Lowell, Research Professor
E-mail: rlowell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1064
Address: Derring Hall Room 1064 Geosciences
1405 Perry ST MC0420
Postal Code: 0420

Maocheng Luo,
E-mail: lmc111@vt.edu
Address: VT Dept. of Geosciences
4053 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Cody Curtis Mason, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: cmason80@vt.edu

Frederick Marc Michel, Assistant Professor
E-mail: fmmichel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3299
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 3061D, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Vanessa Nentwig,
E-mail: nvanessa@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2752
Address: Geoscience Department
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Sterling James Nesbitt, Assistant Professor
E-mail: sjn2104@vt.edu

Gregory S Norris, Electronic Technician
E-mail: gregn10@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3840
Address: Department of Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, 1051, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Jiatie Pan,
E-mail: jevy151@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: VT Dept. of Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Ke Pang,

Sylvain Pasquet, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: spasquet@vt.edu

Ryan Pollyea, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: rpollyea@vt.edu

Philip S Prince,
E-mail: psprince@vt.edu

J. Fred Read, Professor Emeritus of Geosciences
E-mail: jread@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5124
Address: Geosciences
1051 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

J. Donald Rimstidt, Professor Emeritus of Geosciences
E-mail: jdr02@vt.edu
Phone: 540-392-8913
Address: Geosciences
5045 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Brian Romans, Assoc Professor AY
E-mail: romans@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2234
Address: Department of Geosciences 0420
Derring Hall Room 2043A Virginia Tech
1405 Perry St
Postal Code: 0420

Nancy Ross, Professor
E-mail: nross@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 4044D, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Mostafa Safdari Shadloo,
E-mail: msshadloo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2334
Address: Geosciences
1051 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Mike Schindler,

Madeline E Schreiber, Professor
E-mail: mschreib@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3377
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 5048, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Jonathan Schuite,
E-mail: jschuite@vt.edu

Esther Martina Schwarzenbach, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: esther11@vt.edu

S. Llyn Sharp, Museum Coordinator
E-mail: llyn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4080
Address: Geosciences MC 0420
2070 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Natalie Sievers, Senior Project Associate CY
E-mail: nsievers@vt.edu

Mary Jane Smith, Fiscal Assistant
E-mail: mary.jane.smith@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Department of Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall
MC 0420
Postal Code: 0420

J. Arthur Snoke, Professor Emeritus of Geosciences
E-mail: snokeja@vt.edu
Phone: 540-553-1800
Address: Geosciences
1051 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

James A Spotila, Professor
E-mail: spotila@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2109
Address: 4060B Derring Hall
1405 Perry St
Postal Code: 0420

D. Sarah Stamps, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: dstamps@vt.edu

Christian Stanciu, Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: cstanciu@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences Department
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0420

Michelle Stocker, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: stockerm@vt.edu

Jo Thomason, Business Manager
E-mail: thomasoj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8822
Address: Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM4044, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Yuan Tian,
Address: VT Dept. of Geosciences
Derring Hall
1405 Perry Street, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0420

Feiyun Tou,

Robert J Tracy, Professor & Director, Museum of Geosciences
E-mail: rtracy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5980
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 5064, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Zhou Wang,
E-mail: zhouw5@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: Department of Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall 0420
Postal Code: 0420

Robert Weiss, Associate Professor
E-mail: weiszr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2334
Address: Department of Geosciences (0420)
Derring Hall, Room 1056, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Sarah Windes, Laboratory Technician Senior
E-mail: swindes@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: Dept. of Geological Sciences
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Honghai Wu,
E-mail: honghw3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Shuhai Xiao, Professor
E-mail: xiao@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1366
Address: Geosciences
3061 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Ningning Xu,

Denis Zamboni,
E-mail: denis84@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6894
Address: 4044 Derring Hall
Geosciences
Visiting Scholar
Postal Code: 0420

Youquan Zhang,
E-mail: youquan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall
Postal Code: 0420

Jing Zhao, Senior Research Associate
E-mail: jzhao@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8921
Address: 2029 Integrated Life Science Bldg
1981 Kraft Drive
Postal Code: 0913

Dai Zhen,
E-mail: zhend@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6521
Address: Geosciences
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0420

Ying Zhou, Associate Professor
E-mail: yingz@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0673
Address: Department of Geosciences 0420
Derring Hall Room 3056A Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Postal Code: 0420

Hongyue Zhou,
E-mail: hongyz66@vt.edu


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.