History

431 Major Williams Hall (0117)
220 Stanger St
Phone: (540) 231-5331
FAX: (540) 231-8724
E-mail: lindaf@vt.edu
Web: http://www.history.vt.edu
Mark V. Barrow, Jr., Professor and Chair
Phone: (540) 231-5331
E-mail: barrow@vt.edu
L. Fountaine, Administrative Assistant/Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-5331
E-mail: lindaf@vt.edu

Graduate Program

431 Major Williams Hall
Phone: (540) 231-5331
FAX:
E-mail: kjwj@vt.edu
Web: http://www.history.vt.edu/graduate.htm
K. Jones, Assoc. Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: (540) 231-8371
E-mail: kjwj@vt.edu
Linda Fountaine, Admin. Assistant and Office Manager
Phone: (540) 231-5331
E-mail: lindaf@vt.edu

Undergraduate Program

431A/431 Major Williams Hall (0117)
Phone: (540) 231-8382
FAX:
E-mail: jafranci@vt.edu
Web: http://www.history.vt.edu/undergraduate.htm
G. Harrington-Becker, Senior Instructor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Phone: (540) 231-8382
E-mail: thbecker@vt.edu
J. Francis, Undergraduate Advisor
Phone: (540) 231-8382
E-mail: jafranci@vt.edu

Virginia Center for Civil War Studies

405 Major Williams Hall (0117)
Phone: (540) 231-9090
FAX:
E-mail: widavis6@vt.edu
Web: http://www.civilwar.vt.edu
William Jack C. Davis, Executive Director
Phone: (540) 231-9090
E-mail: widavis6@vt.edu

Staff in History

Danna Agmon, Assistant Professor
E-mail: dagmon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8307
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 403, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Michael Alexander, Visiting Assistant Professor
E-mail: alexanmj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8380
Address: History Department
403 Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0117

Patty Baker,
E-mail: baker13@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8368
Address: Department of History (0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 426, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0117

Mark Barrow Jr, Professor and Chair
E-mail: mabarro2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4099
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 431C, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Frederic J Baumgartner, Professor Emeritus of History
E-mail: treeman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8364
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Wallace Hall, Rm. 259, Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0426

Trudy Becker, Senior Instructor and Associate Chair
E-mail: thbecker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1733
Address: Department of History, Rm 431, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Julie A Bowerman,

Sierra Laine Buck,

Glenn Bugh, Associate Professor
E-mail: gbugh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8368
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 426, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Beverly Bunch-Lyons, Associate Professor
E-mail: blyons@vt.edu
Phone: 703-538-8484
Address: Beverly Bunch-Lyons
History Department
Falls Church, VA 22043
Postal Code: 9999

Kevin Ryne Caprice, Research Assistant
E-mail: caprice3@vt.edu
Address: Department of History MC 0117
220 Stanger St. Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0117

Brianna Michelle Crowder, Academic Advisor/Administrative Assistant
E-mail: blovern@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8382
Address: Department of History (0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 431,VT
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Monique Dufour, University Writing Program Cood.
E-mail: msdufour@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8370
Address: Department of History 0117
Major Williams Hall Rm 403
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Catherine Baylin Duryea,
E-mail: cbduryea@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5331
Address: 431 Major Williams Hall
History Department
Postal Code: 0117

Arthur R Ekirch, Professor
E-mail: arekirch@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8381
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 437, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Clara Enriquez, Computer Resources Manager
E-mail: clara3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5332
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 420, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Linda Fountaine, Executive Secretary/Office Manager
E-mail: lifounta@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5331
Address: Department of History (MC: 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 431, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Carmen Gitre, Assistant Professor
E-mail: cgitre@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5216
Address: 220 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0117

Ed Gitre, Visiting Assistant Professor
E-mail: egitre@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5326
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm , Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Sarah Gabrielle Greene,

Heather L Gumbert, Associate Professor
E-mail: hgumbert@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8378
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 431A, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Danielle Guzman,

Dennis Halpin, Assistant Professor
E-mail: dphalpin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5670
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 414, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Michael Hancock-Parmer, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: mifhanc@vt.edu
Address: Department of History (0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 431, VT
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Matthew M Heaton, Associate Professor
E-mail: mheaton@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8361
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 409, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Richard F Hirsh, Professor
E-mail: richards@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5601
Address: Department of History MC 0117
Major Williams Hall Rm 423 Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Kathryn Hollerbach,

Nicole Ifill,

John C Jackson,

Thelonious Johnson,

Kathleen W Jones, Associate Professor Emerita of History
E-mail: kjwj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8371
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 439, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Melanie Kiechle, Assistant Professor
E-mail: mkiechle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5331
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 417, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Courtney Loan, Fiscal Admin & Receptionist
E-mail: cloan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3594
Address: Department of History (0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 431, VT
220 Stanger Street
Blacskburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0117

Ralph H Lutts,

Marian B Mollin, Assoc Professor
E-mail: mmollin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8367
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 419, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Amy Nelson, Associate Professor
E-mail: anelson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8369
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, RM 421, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Bradley J Nichols, Visiting Asst Professor AY
E-mail: bradleyn@vt.edu

Alicia Kristine Oglesby,

Julie Owens,

Denice Pappas-Caul,

Margaret D Prescod-Cisse,

Paul Quigley, Director, Va. Ctr. Civil War Studies
E-mail: pquigley@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9090
Address: Department of History-0117
Major Williams Hall, Rm 405, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Shelly Ramey,

Erika Rao,

James I Robertson Jr, Alumni Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History
E-mail: jircw@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5331
Address: Emeriti - History Department
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0117

Helen M Schneider, Associate Professor
E-mail: hms@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8373
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 411, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Brett Shadle, Associate Professor
E-mail: shadle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8362
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 428, Virginia Tech
2202 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Regan V Shelton, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: reshelto@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5670
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 404, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Neil Shumsky, Associate Professor
E-mail: yksmuhs@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8375
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 435, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Benjamin K Sovacool,
E-mail: sovacool@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5331
Address: History Dept
431 Major Williams Hall
Postal Code: 0117

Robert P Stephens, Associate Professor
E-mail: rosteph2@vt.edu

Amanda G Swindell, IT Support Technician
E-mail: hoffer81@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5332
Address: Lane Hall, Room 224
Major Williams Hall, Room 420, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0317

Peter R Wallenstein, Professor
E-mail: pwallens@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8376
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 402, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Tom Watkins,
E-mail: twatkns@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8380
Address: 403 Major Williams
History
Postal Code: 0117

Dale Winling, Assistant Professor
E-mail: lwinling@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5331
Address: Department of History (MC 0117)
Major Williams Hall, Rm 415, Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0117

Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Download a PDF of the latest University Department Directory.

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Virginia Tech Buildings

Street Addresses

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.