Skip Menu

Department Information

Mathematics

460 McBryde Hall (0123)
225 Stanger St
Phone: (540) 231-6536
FAX: (540) 231-5960
E-mail: math@math.vt.edu
Web: http://www.math.vt.edu/
P. Haskell, Department Chair
Phone: (540) 231-8282
E-mail: haskell@math.vt.edu
Tammi Johnston, Secretary / Enrollment Services Asst.
Phone: (540) 231-8266
E-mail: tammij@math.vt.edu

Staff in Mathematics

Slimane Adjerid, Professor
E-mail: adjerids@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5945
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 424, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Emily Roseanne Adkins, Professional Lecturer
E-mail: era296@vt.edu

Diane Agud, Senior Instructor
E-mail: dagud@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8208
Address: Mathematics - Virginia Tech
McBryde Hall #421
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Susan G Anderson, Senior Instructor
E-mail: anderson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8041
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
431 McBryde, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Rachel Florence Arnold, Instructor
E-mail: rachel.arnold@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8271
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 545, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0502

Teffera M Asfaw, Instructor
E-mail: teffera6@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5500
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 576, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Christopher A Beattie, Professor
E-mail: beattie@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8279
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 552, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Lori Pennington Berry, Enrollment Services Assistant
E-mail: loberry@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8267
Address: Mathematics Department
McBryde Hall, Suite 460, Mail code 0123
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jeff Borggaard, Professor
E-mail: jborggaard@vt.edu
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 528, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Terri A Bourdon, Senior Instructor
E-mail: bourdon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2219
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
Math Emporium
University Mall 801 University City Blvd
Postal Code: 0123

Ezra A Brown, Alumni Distinguished Professor
E-mail: ezbrown@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6950
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 568, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

John A Burns, Hatcher Professor in Math
E-mail: jaburns@vt.edu
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 540, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Eun Ryung Chang, Non-Inst PT Temp Fac/Sum Res
E-mail: changer@vt.edu

Lauren Maressa Childs, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: lchilds@vt.edu
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Myungsuk Chung, Instructor
E-mail: mschung2000@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8270
Address: Mathematics(MC0123)
574 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger street
Postal Code: 0123

Julianne Chung, Assistant Professor
E-mail: jmchung@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6531
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 450, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Matthias Chung, Assistant Professor
E-mail: mcchung@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3446
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 474, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Mihaela Stanca Ciupe, Associate Professor
E-mail: stanca@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3190
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 416, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Joshua Clemons, Advanced Instructor AY
E-mail: jclemons@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8261
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde Hall, RM 449, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Eric De Sturler, Professor
E-mail: sturler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5279
Address: Mathematics (0123)
McBryde 544, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Alexander Elgart, Associate Professor
E-mail: aelgart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6593
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 448, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Mark Embree, Professor
E-mail: embree@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9592
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jerri England, Instructor
E-mail: england@vt.edu

Shelley R Farmer, Instructor
E-mail: srrushin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5409
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 408, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jacob Fillman, Visiting Asst Professor AY
E-mail: fillman@vt.edu

William J Floyd, Professor
E-mail: wfloyd@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8281
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 570, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

William Galinaitis, Instructor AY
E-mail: sgalin@vt.edu
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Guangyue Gao, Instructor AY
E-mail: gygao@vt.edu

Nathan D Gildersleeve, Instructor
E-mail: ngilders@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8302
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 541, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Richard J Gruss, Professional Lecturer
E-mail: rgruss@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2218
Address: Math Emporium (MC 0369)
801 University City Blvd
Postal Code: 0369

Serkan Gugercin, Professor
E-mail: gugercin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6549
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 442, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

George A Hagedorn, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
E-mail: hagedorn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6575
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 422, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Susan M Hagen, Senior Instructor
E-mail: hagen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7229
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 433, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Heath D Hart, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: heathdav@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8514
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde Hall, RM 525, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Peter E Haskell, Professor & Department Head
E-mail: phaskell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8282
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Michael T Heitzman, Instructor
E-mail: heitzman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8262
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 451, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Ken Hinson, Computer Center Lead Engineer
E-mail: hinsonkp@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7224
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde Hall, RM 561B, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Fletcher A Hinson, IT Aquisitions
E-mail: fhinson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1935
Address: Mathematics (0123)
561D McBryde Hall
Postal Code: 0123

Jessica Michelle Hurdus, Advanced Instructor AY
E-mail: jmhurdus@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5162
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 447, Virginia Tach
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Traian Iliescu, Professor
E-mail: iliescu@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8265
Address: Mathematics
428 McBryde Hall (MC 0123)
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Edna Jasso-Hernandez, Instructor
E-mail: efjasso@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5592
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 549, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Estrella Johnson, Assistant Professor
E-mail: strej@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8273
Address: Mathematics MC 0123
McBryde RM 444
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Tammi Johnston, Enrollment Services Asst.
E-mail: tammij@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8266
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Kelli Karcher, Instructor AY
E-mail: kkarcher@vt.edu

Leslie D Kay, Research Scientist
E-mail: lkay@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8260
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 534, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jong U Kim, Professor
E-mail: kimju@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2795
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 526, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0123

Martin Klaus, Professor
E-mail: mklaus@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6533
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 472, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Werner E Kohler, Professor
E-mail: kohler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8283
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 578, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Justin Michael Krueger, Instructor AY
E-mail: kruegej2@vt.edu

David Lax, Instructor AY
E-mail: dclax@vt.edu
Address: Mathematics Department (MC0123)
McBryde Hall, Suite 460
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Ki-Ahm Lee,
Phone: 540-231-4937
Address: Mathematics
438 McBryde Hall
Postal Code: 0123

Cristina Felicitas Letona Bolivar, Instructor AY
E-mail: cristilb@vt.edu

Tao Lin, Professor
E-mail: tlin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2766
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 520, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Peter Linnell, Professor
E-mail: plinnell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2764
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 516, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Honghu Liu, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: hhliu@vt.edu

Nicholas A Loehr, Associate Professor
E-mail: nloehr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4291
Address: 536 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Eduardo N Marcos, Research Scientist
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0123
Postal Code: 0123

Sarah Mason, Instructor AY
E-mail: sbmason@vt.edu
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Rebecca Jane McCarter, Instructor AY
E-mail: rebecjm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7230
Address: Virginia Tech Mathematics Department, McBryde Hall 551
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Tomas Joseph McIntee, Instructor AY
E-mail: tmcintee@vt.edu

Stephen Duncan McIntyre, Instructor
E-mail: smcintyr@vt.edu

Margaret P McQuain, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: mmcquain@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8277
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 543, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Constantin Leonardo Mihalcea, Assistant Professor
E-mail: lmihalce@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5053
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 538, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Debanjana Mitra, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: debam87@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5109
Address: 225 Stanger Street
460 McBryde Hall
Mathematics Department
Postal Code: 0123

Axel Modave, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: modave@vt.edu
Address: 414 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Anderson Norton III, Associate Professor
E-mail: norton3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6942
Address: 434 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Daniel D Orr, Assistant Professor
E-mail: dorr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6510
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 530, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Eyvindur Ari Palsson, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: palsson@vt.edu
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Carl L Prather, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
E-mail: cprather@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6532
Address: Mathematics MC 0123
McBryde 454 Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Frank S Quinn III, University Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
E-mail: fquinn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8274
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 476, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Mythily Ramaswamy,
E-mail: mythily5@vt.edu

Erika R Rappold, Instructor
E-mail: erappold@vt.edu

William Reilly, Professional Lecturer
E-mail: breilly@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2740
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 561F, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Yuriko Renardy, Professor
E-mail: renardy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-320-1573
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
Femoyer 406, Virginia Tech
280 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Michael Renardy, Professor
E-mail: mrenardy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8001
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, Rm 406, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Ryan Daniel Ritch, Math Emporium Curriculum Spec
E-mail: rritch@vt.edu

Nicholas P Robbins, Instructor
E-mail: nrobbins@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6599
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 446, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Robert C Rogers, Professor
E-mail: rogers@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4184
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 430, Virginia Tech
225 Stranger Street
Postal Code: 0123

George Rogers, Math Emporium Lab Operator
E-mail: rogersg@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2220
Postal Code: 0369

John Rossi, Professor
E-mail: rossij@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8272
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
Mc Bryde Room 470 Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Edgar Arturo Saenz Maldonado, Instructor
E-mail: easaenzm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6907
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 420, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Evgeny Savel'ev, Instructor AY
E-mail: savelev@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8264
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 453, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Jessica Michele Schmale, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: schmalej@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6215
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 437, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Mark Shimozono, Professor
E-mail: mshimo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3535
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
532 McBryde Hall, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0123

Thomas Q Sibley,
E-mail: thomass9@vt.edu

Alison Christine Sibol, Professional Lecturer
E-mail: acsibol@vt.edu

Catherine A Stephens, Senior Instructor
E-mail: casteph2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3470
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
Math Emporium, Virginia Tech
801 University City Blvd
Postal Code: 0123

Shu Ming Sun, Professor
E-mail: sun@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8042
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 432, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Nicole Sutphin, Education Support Specialist II
E-mail: nsutphin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6537
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Leigh Ann Teel, Business Manager
E-mail: lateel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8269
Address: Mathematics Department
McBryde Hall, Suite 460, Virgnia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

James C Turner Jr, Professor
E-mail: turnerj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3264
Address: Mathematics
550 McBryde Hall
Postal Code: 0123

Eric Ufferman, Instructor
E-mail: ericu1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3982
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 445, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Peter Wapperom, Associate Professor
E-mail: pwappero@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7252
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, Rm 572, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Timothy Warburton, Professor AY
E-mail: tcew@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
Mathematics Department
Postal Code: 0123

Megan Wawro, Associate Professor
E-mail: mwawro@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4937
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 438, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Robert L Wheeler, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
E-mail: wheeler@vt.edu

Debbie Williams, Fiscal Assistant
E-mail: dbritts@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: Virginia Tech
460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Ben Williams, PC Support Tech
E-mail: jbwillia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2739
Address: Mathematics (MC123)
561E McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jason R Wilson, Advanced Instructor AY
E-mail: jasonwil@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8113
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 439, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Jennifer Wise, Instructor AY
E-mail: jiwise@vt.edu
Address: Mathematics Department (MC0123)
McBryde Hall, Suite 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Sarah Meade Worley, Math Emporium Supervisor
E-mail: sworl9@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3059
Address: Computer-Integrated Learning
Spaces - Math Emporium
801 University City Blvd
Postal Code: 0369

Houbao Xu,

Sohei Yasuda, Instructor AY
E-mail: syasuda@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Pengtao Yue, Associate Professor
E-mail: ptyue@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7533
Address: 440 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Lizette Zietsman, Associate Professor
E-mail: lzietsma@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7667
Address: 426 McBryde Hall Mathematics
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.