Skip Menu

Department Information

Mathematics

460 McBryde Hall (0123)
225 Stanger St
Phone: (540) 231-6536
FAX: (540) 231-5960
E-mail: math@math.vt.edu
Web: http://www.math.vt.edu/
P. Haskell, Department Chair
Phone: 231-8282
E-mail: haskell@math.vt.edu
Tammi Johnston, Secretary / Enrollment Services Asst.
Phone: 231-8266
E-mail: tammij@math.vt.edu

Staff in Mathematics

Slimane Adjerid, Professor
E-mail: adjerids@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5945
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 424, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Emily Roseanne Adkins, Math Emporium Staff Supervisor
E-mail: era296@vt.edu

Diane Agud, Senior Instructor
E-mail: dagud@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8208
Address: Mathematics - Virginia Tech
McBryde Hall #421
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Susan G Anderson, Senior Instructor
E-mail: anderson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8041
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
431 McBryde, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Rachel Florence Arnold, Instructor
E-mail: rachel.arnold@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8271
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 545, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0502

Teffera M Asfaw, Instructor AY
E-mail: teffera6@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5500
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 576, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Joe Ball, Professor
E-mail: joball@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7080
Address: McBryde, RM554, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Christopher A Beattie, Professor
E-mail: beattie@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8279
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 552, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Sandy Blevins, Enrollment Services Assistant
E-mail: sblevins@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8267
Address: Mathematics
460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jeff Borggaard, Professor
E-mail: jborggaard@vt.edu
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 528, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Terri A Bourdon, Senior Instructor
E-mail: bourdon@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2219
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde RM 441, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Ezra A Brown, Alumni Distinguished Professor
E-mail: ezbrown@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6950
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 568, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

John A Burns, Hatcher Professor in Math
E-mail: jaburns@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7667
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 540, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Myungsuk Chung, Instructor
E-mail: mschung2000@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8270
Address: Mathematics(MC0123)
574 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger street
Postal Code: 0123

Julianne Chung, Assistant Professor
E-mail: jmchung@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6531
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 450, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Matthias Chung, Assistant Professor
E-mail: mcchung@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3446
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 474, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Mihaela Stanca Ciupe, Assistant Professor
E-mail: stanca@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3190
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 416, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Joshua Clemons, Instructor
E-mail: jclemons@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8261
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde Hall, RM 449, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Lauren Ashley Cupp, Empo Lab Staff Supervisor
E-mail: lcupp@vt.edu
Address: Math Emporium (MC 0369)
801 University City Blvd
Postal Code: 0369

Martin V Day, Professor
E-mail: daymv@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8263
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 452, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Eric De Sturler, Professor
E-mail: sturler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5279
Address: Mathematics (0123)
McBryde 544, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Geoffrey Robert Dillon, Instructor AY
E-mail: grwd@vt.edu

Zlatko Drmac, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: zlatko@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: Mathematics
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0123

Alexander Elgart, Associate Professor
E-mail: aelgart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6593
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 448, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Mark Embree, Professor AY
E-mail: embree@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jerri England, Instructor
E-mail: england@vt.edu

William J Floyd, Professor
E-mail: wfloyd@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8281
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 570, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Nathan D Gildersleeve, Instructor AY
E-mail: ngilders@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8302
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 541, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Nathan Glatt-Holtz, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: negh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5296
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 428, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Richard J Gruss, Math Emporium Lead Developer
E-mail: rgruss@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2218
Address: Math Emporium (MC 0369)
801 University City Blvd
Postal Code: 0369

Serkan Gugercin, Professor
E-mail: gugercin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6549
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 442, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

George A Hagedorn, Professor
E-mail: hagedorn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6575
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 425, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Susan M Hagen, Senior Instructor
E-mail: hagen@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7229
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 433, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Lucy Hanks, Instructor
E-mail: lhanks@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7230
Address: Mathematics(MC 0123)
McBryde Hall , RM 551, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Heath D Hart, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: heathdav@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8514
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde Hall, RM 525, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Peter E Haskell, Professor & Department Head
E-mail: phaskell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8282
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Michael T Heitzman, Instructor AY
E-mail: heitzman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8262
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 451, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Ken Hinson, Computer Center Lead Engineer
E-mail: hinsonkp@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7224
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde Hall, RM 561B, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Fletcher A Hinson, IT Aquisitions
E-mail: fhinson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1935
Address: Mathematics (0123)
561D McBryde Hall
Postal Code: 0123

Jessica Michelle Hurdus, Instructor
E-mail: jmhurdus@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5162
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 447, Virginia Tach
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Traian Iliescu, Professor
E-mail: iliescu@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8265
Address: Mathematics
456 McBryde Hall (MC 0123)
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Edna Jasso-Hernandez, Instructor AY
E-mail: efjasso@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5592
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 549, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Estrella Johnson, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: strej@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8273
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 444, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Tammi Johnston, Enrollment Services Asst.
E-mail: tammij@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8266
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Leslie D Kay, Research Scientist
E-mail: lkay@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8260
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 534, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jong U Kim, Professor
E-mail: kimju@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2795
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 526, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0123

Martin Klaus, Professor
E-mail: mklaus@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6533
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 472, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Werner E Kohler, Professor
E-mail: kohler@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8283
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 578, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Abigail W Kohler, Senior Instructor
E-mail: kohlera@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8006
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 443, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Reinhard C Laubenbacher,
E-mail: rlaubenb@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: Mathematics
460 McBryde
Postal Code: 0477

Ki-Ahm Lee,
Phone: 540-231-4937
Address: Mathematics
438 McBryde Hall
Postal Code: 0123

Kevin Lee, Research Asst EM
E-mail: kloklee8@vt.edu

Tao Lin, Professor
E-mail: tlin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2766
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 520, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Peter Linnell, Professor
E-mail: plinnell@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2764
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 516, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Nicholas A Loehr, Associate Professor
E-mail: nloehr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4291
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, Room 536, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Eduardo N Marcos, Research Scientist
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: 460 McBryde Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0123
Postal Code: 0123

Stephen Duncan McIntyre, Instructor AY
E-mail: smcintyr@vt.edu

Margaret P McQuain, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: mmcquain@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8277
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 543, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Constantin Leonardo Mihalcea, Assistant Professor
E-mail: lmihalce@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5053
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 538, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Shelley R Miller, Instructor AY
E-mail: srrushin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5409
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 408, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Anderson Norton III, Associate Professor
E-mail: norton3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6942
Address: Mathematics (0123)
McBryde, RM 434, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Bartleby Ordonez-Delgado, Instructor
E-mail: bartod@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8280
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 556, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Daniel D Orr, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: dorr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6510
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 430, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Frank S Quinn III, Professor
E-mail: fquinn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8274
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 476, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Erika Renee Rappold, Instructor AY
E-mail: erappold@vt.edu

William Reilly, Lecturer Prof CY
E-mail: breilly@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2740
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 561F, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Yuriko Renardy, Professor
E-mail: renardy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-320-1573
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
Femoyer 406, Virginia Tech
280 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Michael Renardy, Professor
E-mail: mrenardy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8001
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, Rm 406, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Nicholas P Robbins, Instructor
E-mail: nrobbins@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6599
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 446, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Robert C Rogers, Professor
E-mail: rogers@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4184
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 530, Virginia Tech
225 Stranger Street
Postal Code: 0123

John Rossi, Professor
E-mail: rossij@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8272
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
Mc Bryde Room 470 Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

David Russell, Professor
E-mail: dlr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6171
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 418, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Edgar Arturo Saenz Maldonado, Instructor
E-mail: easaenzm@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6907
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 420, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Evgeny Savel'ev, Instructor
E-mail: savelev@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8264
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 453, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Jessica Michele Schmale, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: schmalej@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6215
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 437, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Mark Shimozono, Professor
E-mail: mshimo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3535
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
532 McBryde Hall, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0123

Eileen T Shugart, Senior Instructor, Teaching Asst. Coordinator
E-mail: shugart@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8044
Address: Mathematics MC 0123
McBryde 436, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Thomas Q Sibley,
E-mail: thomass9@vt.edu

Alison Christine Sibol, Math Emporium Staff Supervisor
E-mail: acsibol@vt.edu

Deborah B Smith, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: smithdb@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5465
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 547, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Ruben Spies, Summer Sch Non-VT Fac Teaching
E-mail: spies@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7667
Address: ICAM (0531)
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0123

Catherine A Stephens, Senior Instructor
E-mail: casteph2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5465
Address: Mathematics (MC0123)
McBryde, RM 547, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Shu Ming Sun, Professor
E-mail: sun@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8042
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 432, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Nicole Sutphin, Education Support Specialist II
E-mail: nsutphin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6537
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 460, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Leigh Ann Teel, Business Manager
E-mail: lateel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8269
Address: Mathematics Department
McBryde Hall, Suite 460, Virgnia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

James C Turner Jr, Professor
E-mail: turnerj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3264
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 550, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Eric Ufferman, Instructor
E-mail: ericu1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3982
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 445, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Ellen J Walker, Math Emporium Web Content Anal
E-mail: ewalker@vt.edu

Kara Walker, Emporium Assistant
E-mail: karaw3@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8930
Address: Department of Biological Sciences (MC 0406)
Derring Hall RM 2089, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0406

Peter Wapperom, Associate Professor
E-mail: pwappero@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7252
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, Rm 572, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Megan Wawro, Assistant Professor
E-mail: mwawro@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4937
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 438, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Robert L Wheeler, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
E-mail: wheeler@vt.edu

Debbie Williams, Fiscal Assistant
E-mail: dbritts@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6536
Address: Virginia Tech
460 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Ben Williams, PC Support Tech
E-mail: jbwillia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2739
Address: Mathematics (MC123)
561E McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Jason R Wilson, Instructor
E-mail: jasonwil@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8113
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde 439, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0123

Jeremy Aaron Wong, Instructor AY
E-mail: jwong28@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8302
Address: Department of Mathematics
McBryde Hall (0123)
Postal Code: 0123

Houbao Xu,

Pengtao Yue, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ptyue@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7533
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde, RM 440, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123

Lizette Zietsman, Associate Professor
E-mail: lzietsma@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7667
Address: Mathematics (MC 0123)
McBryde RM 426, Virginia Tech
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0123


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.