Skip Menu

Department Information

Mechanical Engineering

445 Goodwin Hall (0238)
635 Prices Fork Rd
Phone: (540) 231-7183
FAX: (540) 231-0422
Web: http://www.me.vt.edu/
Dr. Azim Eskandarian, Professor and Department Head
Phone: (540) 231-3382
Brandy McCoy, Executive Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-6661
E-mail: brandy07@vt.edu


Lance Yelton, Program Supprt Technician
Phone: (540) 231-1673


Heather Whedbee, Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Phone: (540) 231-2555


Melissa Williams, Operations Manager
Phone: (540) 231-4447


Kimberly Clark, Program Support Technician - Energy Group
Phone: (540) 231-9101


Mandy Collins, Program Support Technician - Business Assistant
Phone: (540) 231-5056


Beth Howell, Research Associate
Phone: (540) 231-2908


Diana Israel, Program Support Technician - Turbo Group
Phone: (540) 231-6424


Rosaire Bushey, Communications & Outreach Manager
Phone: (540) 231-2965


Clint Dancey, Asst. Head, Undergraduate Program
Phone: (540) 231-7466


Sarah Deisher, Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Phone: (540) 231-8592


Linda Vick, Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Phone: (540) 231-7747


Corina Sandu, Associate Head, Graduate Program
Phone: (540) 231-7467


Cathy Hill, Graduate Program Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-7460


Annette Ben-Tzvi, Graduate Academic Advisor
Phone: (540) 231-3608

Advanced Vehicle Dynamics Laboratory


Corina Sandu, Director
Phone: (540) 231-7467

Center for Energy Harvesting Materials and Systems (CEHMS)


Web: http://www.me.vt.edu/cehms/
Shashank Priya, Director
Phone: (540) 231-8355
Lauren Mills, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-8355

Center for Injury Biomechanics


Web: http://www.cib.vt.edu/
Warren Hardy, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4314

Center for Intelligent Material Systems and Structures


Dan Inman, Director
Phone: (540) 231-2908

Center for Tire Ressearch


Web: http://www.centire.org/
Saied Taheri, Director
Phone: (540) 231-0032
Ashlin Jackson, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-8250

Center for Vehicle Systems and Safety (CVeSS)


Web: http://www.cvess.me.vt.edu/
Mehdi Ahmadian, Director
Phone: (540) 231-0700
Sara Vallejo, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-0700

Computer Systems


Ben Poe, Computer Services Supervisor
Phone: (540) 231-9114
Jamie Archual, Computer Services
Phone: (540) 231-7459

Electronics Shop


Johnny Underwood, Equipment and Facilitites Specialist
Phone: (540) 231-9113

Mechanical Shop


Timmy Kessinger, Supervisor
Phone: (540) 231-3770

Nuclear Engineering Degree Program


Web: http://nuclear.ncr.vt.edu/
Mark Pierson, Director
Phone: (540) 231-9112
Sue Miller, Program Support
Phone: (540) 231-7183

Vibration and Acoustics Laboratories


Web: http://www.val.me.vt.edu/
Chris Fuller, Director
Phone: (540) 231-4162
Liz Joslin, Program Support Technician
Phone: (540) 231-4162

Virginia Active Combustion Control Group/Reacting Flows Lab


Uri Vandsburger, Director
Phone: (540) 231-9538

Virginia FIRST LEGO League (VAFLL)


Bill Duggins, Director
Phone: (540) 231-8124
Susan Duggins, Associate Director
Phone: (540) 231-8124

Staff in Mechanical Engineering

Siamak Agha-Mahammadi,
Phone: 540-231-6661
Address: Department of Mechanical Engineering
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Mehdi Ahmadian, Professor
E-mail: ahmadian@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1408
Address: Mechanical Engineering
123 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0901

James Craig Archual, Computer Systems Engineer
E-mail: archual@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7459
Address: Mechanical Engineering
114 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0238

Alan Thomas Asbeck, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: aasbeck@vt.edu

Kenneth Steven Ball,
E-mail: ball@vt.edu

Bahareh Behkam, Assistant Professor
E-mail: behkam@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7491
Address: 239 Kelly Hall Mech Engineering
325 Stanger St
Postal Code: 0710

Pinhas Ben-Tzvi, Assoc Professor CY
E-mail: bentzvi@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6938
Address: 635 Prices Fork Road - MC 0238
465 Goodwin Hall
Postal Code: 0238

Annette Ben-Tzvi, Undergrad & Grad Academic Adv
E-mail: abentzvi@vt.edu

Jan Helge Bohn, Associate Professor
E-mail: bohn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3276
Address: Mechanical Engineering (MC 0710)
Randolph Hall, 114-H, Virginia Tech
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Eugene F Brown, Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: efbrown@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7199
Address: Mechanical Engineering
112 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0238

Ricardo A Burdisso, Professor
E-mail: rburdiss@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
153 Durham Hall
1145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Rosaire Bushey, Communications Director, College of Science
E-mail: busheyr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2965
Address: 453 Goodwin Hall
635 Prices Fork Rd. (0238)
Postal Code: 0238

Harsha K Chelliah,
E-mail: harsha5@vt.edu

Jiangtao Cheng, Assoc Professor AY
E-mail: chengjt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4164
Address: 429 Goodwin Hall (0238)
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Kimberly D Clark, Program Support Tech.
E-mail: kdhobbs@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9101
Address: 635 Prices Fork Rd
445 Goodwin Hall
Postal Code: 0238

Gail Coe, Program Support Technician Senior
E-mail: gcoe@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9349
Address: Mechanical Engineering
100S Randolph
Postal Code: 0710

Amanda Deann Collins, Program Support Tech
E-mail: mandamcg@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5056
Address: Mechanical Engineering
456 Signature Engineering Building
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Clinton L Dancey, Assoc Professor
E-mail: cld@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7466
Address: Mechanical Engineering
118A Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Sarah M Deisher, Undergraduate Academic Advisor
E-mail: deisher@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8592
Address: Mechanical Engineering
113A Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Weiwei Deng, Assoc Professor AY
E-mail: weiwei@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7388
Address: 427 Goodwin Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Thomas E Diller, Professor
E-mail: tdiller@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7198
Address: 313C Signature Engineeering Building
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Bill Duggins Jr, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: duggins@vt.edu

Susan Duggins, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: bright@vt.edu

Michael W Ellis, Assoc Professor
E-mail: mwellis@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9102
Address: Mechanical Engineering
100C1 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0238

Azim Eskandarian, Department Head
E-mail: eskandarian@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3382
Address: Virginia Tech, Mechanical Engineering Department
449 Goodwin Hall
635 Prices Fork Road - MC 0238
Postal Code: 0238

John B Ferris, Associate Professor
E-mail: jbferris@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4797
Address: Mechanical Engineering
143 Durham Hall
1145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Chris Fuller, Roanoke Electric Steel Prof in Engr
E-mail: cfuller@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7273
Address: Mechanical Engineering
133 Durham Hall
1145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Tomonari Furukawa, Professor
E-mail: tomonari@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9311
Address: 332A Randolph Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Postal Code: 0238

Wally Grant, Kevin P. Granata Faculty Fellow Emeritus Professor of ESM
E-mail: jgrant@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4573
Address: Department of Engineering Science and Mechanics (MC 0219)
Norris Hall, Room 302, Virginia Tech
495 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0219

Dahai Guo,

Alireza Haghighat, Professor
E-mail: haghighat@vt.edu
Phone: 571-858-3333
Address: Virginia Tech Research Center
900 N Glebe Road
Arlington, VA 22203
Postal Code: 0238

Warren Nelson Hardy, Assoc Professor AY
E-mail: whardy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4314
Address: VT/WFU Ctr Injury Biomechanics
443 Kelly Hall, 325 Stanger St.
Postal Code: 0194

Cathy Hill, Graduate Coordinator
E-mail: hillcath@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7460
Address: Mechanical Engineering
105 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Celine Hin, Assistant Professor
E-mail: celhin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1924
Address: Mechanical Engineering Department
Signature Engineering Building, Office 437, Virginia Tech
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Beth Howell, Program Manager
E-mail: bethrun@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2908
Address: Suite 445 Goodwin Hall
635 Price's Fork Road
Room 455
Postal Code: 0238

Scott T Huxtable, Associate Professor
E-mail: huxtable@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1943
Address: Mechanical Engineering
313B Goodwin Hall
635 Prices Fork Rd.
Postal Code: 0238

Dan Inman Sr, George R. Goodson Professor and Director of CIMSS
E-mail: dinman@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4709
Address: Ctr. for Intelligent Materials
Mechanical Engineering
315 Durham Hall
Postal Code: 0261

Diana D Israel, Program Support Technician Sr.
E-mail: disrael@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6424
Address: Mechanical Engineering
635 Prices Fork Road
452 Signature Engineering Building
Postal Code: 0238

Ashlin Michelle Jackson, Program Support Tech Sr.
E-mail: jashlin@vt.edu
Address: 100C1 Randolph Hall (MC 0710)
460 Old Turner St.
Postal Code: 0710

Arthur Johnson,
Phone: 540-231-7183
Address: Mechanical Engineering
Hampton Roads, VA 23455
Postal Code: 0238

Elizabeth Margaret Joslin, Program Support Technician Sr.
E-mail: keliz13@vt.edu

Mary E Kasarda, Associate Professor
E-mail: maryk@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8552
Address: Mechanical Engineering (MC0238)
Signature Engineering Building 213B
635 Prices Fork Rd
Postal Code: 0238

Timothy J Kessinger, Lab Instr Maker
E-mail: tikessin@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4007
Address: Mechanical Engineering
5 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Gordon Kirk, Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: gokirk@vt.edu
Phone: 540-998-2144
Address: Mechanical Engineering MC 0238
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Kevin Kochersberger, Associate Professor
E-mail: kbk@vt.edu
Address: 119 Randolph Hall (0710)
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Postal Code: 0710

Alan Kornhauser, Associate Professor
E-mail: alkorn@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7064
Address: Mechanical Engineering
469 Signature Engineering Building
635 Prices Fork Road (0238)
Postal Code: 0238

Andrew J Kurdila, Professor
E-mail: kurdila@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8028
Address: Mechanical Engineering
141 Durham Hall
145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Brian Y Lattimer, Professor
E-mail: lattimer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7295
Address: Mechanical Engineering
SEB, RM 413C, Virginia Tech
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Alexander Leonessa, Associate Professor
E-mail: aleoness@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3268
Address: Mechanical Engineering
147 Durham Hall
1145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Zheng Li, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: zhengli@vt.edu

Ling Li, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: lingl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9594
Address: Room 431, Goodwin Hall
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Yuan Lin, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: yuanlin@vt.edu

Yang Liu, Assistant Professor
E-mail: liu130@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8068
Address: 433 Signature Engineering Building
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Phillip Lee Long, Laboratory Instrument Maker
E-mail: plong06@vt.edu

K Todd Lowe,
Phone: 540-231-7183
Address: Mechanical Engineering
Randoph Hall
Postal Code: 0238

Casey W Lucas, Laboratory Instrument Maker
E-mail: casey92@vt.edu

Ting Ma,
E-mail: tingma@vt.edu

Roop L Mahajan, Professor
E-mail: mahajanr@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6876
Address: Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science (MC 0193)
Kelly Hall, Suite 410 H, Virginia Tech
325 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0193

Brandy L McCoy, Executive Secretary
E-mail: brandy07@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6661
Address: Mechanical Engineering
Signature Engineering Building, Room 451 (0238)
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Amanda Stowers McCoy, Office Administrative Support
E-mail: amangs1@vt.edu

Joseph Meadows, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: jwm84@vt.edu

Suzanne E Miller, Office Services Aide
E-mail: sem0616@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7183
Address: Mechanical Engineering
447 Goodwin Hall 635 Prices Fork Rd
Postal Code: 0238

Reza Mirzaeifar, Assistant Professor
E-mail: rmirzaei@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8697
Address: 309 Durham Hall
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0238

Rolf Mueller, Associate Professor
E-mail: rolf.mueller@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6005
Address: Mechanical Engineering
312 ICTAS II
1075 Life Science Circle
Postal Code: 0917

Partha P Mukherjee,
Phone: 540-231-6661
Address: 114 Randolph Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Amrinder Nain, Assistant Professor
E-mail: nain@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6036
Address: MC 0710 Randolph Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0710

Doug Nelson, Professor
E-mail: doug.nelson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4324
Address: Mechanical Engineering (0238)
Goodwin Hall, Room 413B, Virginia Tech
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Wing Ng, Chris Kraft Endowed Professor
E-mail: wng@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7274
Address: Mechanical Engineering
SEB, Room 425
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Walter F O'Brien Jr, J. Bernard Jones Professor
E-mail: walto@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9104
Address: Mechanical Engineering
109 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street, MC 0710
Postal Code: 0710

Robin S Ott, Assoc Professor of Practice CY
E-mail: rso@vt.edu

Robert G Parker, Professor CY
E-mail: r.parker@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9894
Address: Mechanical Engineering
106 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Mark R Paul, Professor
E-mail: mrp@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
114T Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0238

Mark Alan Pierson, Associate Professor of Practice CY
E-mail: mark.pierson@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9112
Address: Mechanical Engineering (0238)
Goodwin Hall, Room 439
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Ranga Pitchumani, Professor
E-mail: pitchu@vt.edu

Ben Poe III, Computer Systems Senior Engineer
E-mail: bpoe@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9114
Address: Mechanical Engineering
124 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Shashank Priya, Professor
E-mail: spriya@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
315 Durham Hall
1145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Rui Qiao, Associate Professor
E-mail: ruiqiao@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7199
Address: 460 Old Turner St.
122 Randolph Hall
Postal Code: 0710

Matthew Jason Rice, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: marice1@vt.edu
Address: Randolph Hall Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Michael J Roan, Associate Professor, John R Jones III Faculty Fellow
E-mail: mroan@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
111 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Allison J Rubio, National Capital Region, Program Coordinator
E-mail: arubio@vt.edu
Phone: 703-538-3790
Address: 7054 Haycock Road
Office 435
Falls Church, VA 22043
Postal Code: 0238

Corina Sandu, Professor
E-mail: csandu@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7467
Address: Mechanical Engineering
107 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Elaine P Scott, Professor
E-mail: scottep@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3940
Address: Mechanical Engineering
114 Randolph Hall
Postal Code: 0238

Charles E Smith, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: cesmith@vt.edu

Bill Songer, Lab Instr Maker
E-mail: wsonger@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
5 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Steve C Southward, Associate Professor
E-mail: scsouth@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7385
Address: Mechanical Engineering
139 Durham Hall
1145 Perry Street
Postal Code: 0261

Danesh Tafti, William S. Cross Professor of Engineering
E-mail: dtafti@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9975
Address: Signature Engineering Building, Room 213E
635 Prices Fork Road (0238)
Postal Code: 0238

Saied Taheri, Professor
E-mail: staheri@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0032
Address: Mechanical Engineering
100C Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Pablo Alberto Tarazaga, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ptarazag@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2906
Address: Virginia Tech - Mechanical Engineering
313-D Goodwin Hall MC0238
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Janis P Terpenny, Professor
E-mail: terpenny@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6661
Address: Engineering Education (0218)
Mechanical Engineering (0238)
Offs: 630 McBryde & 3030B Torg
Postal Code: 0238

Zhiting Tian, Assistant Professor
E-mail: zhiting@vt.edu

James A Turso,
E-mail: tursoja@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6661
Address: Mechanical Engineering
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Johnny L Underwood, Equipment & Facilities Supvr
E-mail: johnnyu6@vt.edu

Sara Phillips Vallejo, Program Support Technician Sr.
E-mail: sara.vallejo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0700
Address: 3103 Commerce Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Linda W Vick, Associate Professor of Practice
E-mail: lvick@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
113 Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710

Brian Vick, Associate Professor
E-mail: bvick@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7596
Address: Mechanical Engineering
473 Signature Engineering Building
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Pavlos P Vlachos, Professor
E-mail: pvlachos@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7183
Address: Mechanical Engineering
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0238

Bob West Jr, Associate Professor
E-mail: westrl@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7185
Address: 467 Signature Engineering Building
Mechanical Engineering Department
Mechanical Engineering
Postal Code: 0238

Heather A Whedbee, Undergrad & Grad Academic Adv
E-mail: heathaw@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2555
Address: 112 Randolph Hall, MC 0710
Virginia Tech
Postal Code: 0710

Alfred L Wicks, Associate Professor
E-mail: awicks@vt.edu
Address: Mechanical Engineering
114Q Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0238

Melissa J Williams, Business Manager
E-mail: mjwillia@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4447
Address: Mechanical Engineering (MC0238)
457 Signature Engineering Building-Virginia Tech
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Christopher Bryant Williams, Associate Professor
E-mail: cbwilliams@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3422
Address: Mechanical Engineering
413D Signature Engineering Building
635 Prices Fork Road
Postal Code: 0238

Dong Yang, Postdoctoral Associate CY
E-mail: dongyang@vt.edu

Lance C Yelton, Program Support Technician Sr.
E-mail: ylance70@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1673
Address: Mechanical Engineering Department
635 Prices Ford Road
445 Goodwin Hall, Room 460
Postal Code: 0238

Hank Yochum,
Phone: 540-231-6661
Address: Mechanical Engineering
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Aimen M Younis, Grader
E-mail: younis@vt.edu

Jinsuo Zhang, Professor AY
E-mail: zjinsuo5@vt.edu

Xiaoyu Zheng, Assistant Professor
E-mail: raynezheng@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6045
Address: 413A Goodwin Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Postal Code: 0238

Lei Zuo, Associate Professor
E-mail: leizuo@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7270
Address: Room 311 Durham Hall Virginia Tech
Energy Harvesting and Mechatronics Research Lab
Postal Code: 0261

Michael von Spakovsky, Professor
E-mail: michael.von.spakovsky@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6684
Address: Mechanical Engineering
114U Randolph Hall
460 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0710


Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.