Sociology

560 McBryde Hall (0137)
225 Stanger St
Phone: (540) 231-8971
FAX: (540) 231-3860
E-mail: soc@vt.edu
Web: http://www.sociology.vt.edu
J. Ryan, Chair
Phone: (540) 231-9396
E-mail: johnryan@vt.edu
B. Husser, CAP-OM, Office Mgr/Academic Advisor
Phone: (540) 231-6878
E-mail: bhusser@vt.edu

Africana Studies

562 McBryde Hall (0137)
Phone: (540) 231-7343
FAX:
Web: http://www.sociology.vt.edu
Ellington Graves, Director
Phone: (540) 231-7343
E-mail: egraves@vt.edu

American Indian Studies

644 McBryde Hall (0137)
Phone: (540) 231-9596
FAX:
E-mail: sacook2@vt.edu
Web: http://www.sociology.vt.edu
Sam Cook, Coordinator
Phone: (540) 231-9596
E-mail: sacook2@vt.edu

Women's and Gender Studies

507A McBryde Hall (0137)
FAX:
E-mail: wgs@vt.edu
Web: http://www.wgs.clahs.vt.edu
Katrina Powell, Director
Phone: (540) 231-5932
E-mail: kmpowell@vt.edu

Staff in Sociology

Onwubiko Agozino, Professor
E-mail: agozino@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7699
Address: 562 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Deanna W Alexander, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: dalex@vt.edu
Address: Department of Sociology
560 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0260

Shannon Bell, Assoc Professor AY
E-mail: shannon.eliz.bell@vt.edu

Kaitlin Boyle, Assistant Professor AY
E-mail: kmboyle@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8971
Address: Dept of Sociology
225 Stanger Street
560 McBryde Hall
Postal Code: 0137

David Brunsma, Professor
E-mail: brunsmad@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8723
Address: Department of Sociology
654 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Kaitland Marie Byrd, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: kmp009@vt.edu

Toni M Calasanti, Professor
E-mail: toni@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8961
Address: 648 McBryde Sociology
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Sam Cook, Associate Professor
E-mail: sacook2@vt.edu

Nick Copeland, Assistant Professor
E-mail: ncopel@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8839
Address: Department of Sociology
524 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Laura J Gillman, Professor
E-mail: lgillman@vt.edu

Tish Glosh, Bookkeeper/Graduate Coordinator
E-mail: glosht@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8972
Address: Sociology
560 McBryde Hall MC 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Sandy Graham, Emergency Hire
E-mail: sgraham@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8429
Address: Hospitality & Tourism Management Dept.
362 Wallace Hall
Postal Code: 0429

Ellington T Graves, Advanced Instructor
E-mail: egraves@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7343
Address: Department of Sociology
562 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Kwame Harrison, Associate Professor
E-mail: anharri5@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4519
Address: Department of Sociology
678 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

James E Hawdon, Professor
E-mail: hawdonj@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7476
Address: 205a Norris Hall
495 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0911

Christina Hey, Language Tutor
E-mail: maehey@vt.edu

Michael D Hughes, Professor
E-mail: mdh@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8967
Address: Sociology
652 McBryde
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Brenda Husser, Office Mgr/Academic Advisor
E-mail: bhusser@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6878
Address: Department of Sociology
560 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Deana Marie Jones, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: djones29@vt.edu

Sitingawawo Diana Kachipande, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: skachip@vt.edu

Lindsay Leann Kahle, Instructor AY
E-mail: lindsk87@vt.edu

Jill Kiecolt, Professor
E-mail: kiecolt@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8973
Address: Department of Sociology
668 McBryde
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Neal M King, Professor
E-mail: nmking@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8174
Address: Sociology
642 McBryde Hall
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Amy Beth Kokkinakos, Undergrad Prog Admin Assistant
E-mail: amyk@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4239
Address: Department of Chemistry (0212)
Hahn Hall North rm 306
900 West Campus Drive
Postal Code: 0212

Christine Labuski, Assistant Professor
E-mail: chrislab@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2765
Address: Department of Sociology
518 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Shelton Anthony Norwood, Undergraduate Studies Program Support
E-mail: snorwood@vt.edu

Sarah Ovink, Assistant Professor
E-mail: sovink@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2481
Address: Department of Sociology
504 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Anthony Peguero, Assistant Professor
E-mail: anthony.peguero@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2549
Address: Department of Sociology
506 McBryde Hal 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Paulo S Polanah, Associate Professor
E-mail: polanah@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5650
Address: Africana Studies/Sociology
670 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Wornie L Reed, Professor
E-mail: wornie@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3496
Address: 564 McBryde Hall 0137 Sociology
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Ashley Reichelmann, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: avr@vt.edu

Micah Roos, Asst Professor AY
E-mail: jmroos@vt.edu

John Ryan Jr, Professor & Chair
E-mail: johnryan@vt.edu
Phone: 540-922-3915
Address: Department of Sociology
560 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Suchitra Samanta, Instructor
E-mail: ssamanta@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7528
Address: Department of Sociology
546 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Donna Ann Sedgwick, Instructor
E-mail: sedgwick@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8965
Address: 649 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Paula Seniors, Assistant Professor
E-mail: pseniors@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7205
Address: 672 McBryde Hall 0137 Sociology
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Sara Beth Sheiner, Instructional PT Temp Adjunct
E-mail: ssheiner@vt.edu

Donald Shoemaker, Professor
E-mail: shoemake@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6046
Address: Department of Sociology
512 McBryde 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Barbara Ellen Smith, Professor Emerita of Women's and Gender Studies
E-mail: smithbe@vt.edu

Blake Elliot Smith, Information Technology Spec
E-mail: bsmith15@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5292
Address: 653 McByrde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Amy Emmeline Splitt, Office Manager - Center for Peace Studies and Violence Preve
E-mail: amys@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2345
Address: Dept of Sociology, Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention
205 Norris Hall - MC 0911
495 Old Turner Street
Postal Code: 0911

Anastasia Sue Vogt Yuan, Associate Professor
E-mail: avy@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5641
Address: Sociology
646 McBryde 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Heidi M Williams, Instructor AY
E-mail: hmwill07@vt.edu

Dale Wimberley, Assoc Professor
E-mail: dale.wimberley@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8960
Address: Department of Sociology MC 0137
225 Stanger St 640 McBryde
Postal Code: 0137

Bonnie Zare, Assoc Professor AY
E-mail: bonzare@vt.edu

Haiyan Zhu, Assistant Professor of Sociology
E-mail: zhuh09@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9641
Address: Department of Sociology
650 McBryde Hall 0137
225 Stanger Street
Postal Code: 0137

Departments & Organizations

You may view the entire directory or look at it by alphabetic section:

Entire Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Download a PDF of the latest University Department Directory.

Corporate Research Center Directory

Directory Home

Virginia Tech Buildings

Street Addresses

Staff Listings

Note that if there are staff listings for a department, they have been obtained from the PeopleSearch directory. Due to differences in how departments are named, or how employees are listed in the Banner system (due to budget allocations and department category designations), the staff listing may not be complete.

If an employee's information is incorrect and he or she would like to update it, please refer to Changing or Updating Your Personal Information. If an employee is currently being listed and would like to be hidden (or vice versa), consult the instructions on Hiding/Showing Your Personal Information.